Belmonte, Sotto win second terms in Quezon City

Janvic Mateo - The Philippine Star

MANILA, Philippines — Reelectionist Quezon City Mayor Joy Belmonte and Vice Mayor Gian Sotto secured second terms based on the official results from the Commission on Elections transparency server.

As of 3:32 p.m. with 96.2 percent of election returns transmitted, Belmonte obtained 643,159 votes against the 406,160 votes of her closest rival, Anakalusugan Rep. Michael Defensor.

Meanwhile, Sotto obtained 576,564 votes against the 423,059 obtained by outgoing councilor and former congressman Winnie Castelo.

The local board of canvassers proclaimed the winners in the local races yesterday.

In the congressional race, many of those in Belmonte’s slate led the partial and unofficial count.

Actor Arjo Atayde obtained 111,742 votes against reelectionist District 1 Rep. Onyx Crisologo with only 52,554, while Ralph Tulfo – son of broadcaster and presumptive senator Raffy Tulfo – is leading with 124,468 votes against incumbent District 2 Rep. Precious Hipolito-Castelo with 94,012.

Reelectionist District 3 Rep. Franz Pumaren obtained 59,524 votes, slightly ahead of his challenger Allan Benedict Reyes with 55,748.

In District 4, Belmonte’s candidate reelectionist Rep. Bong Suntay is trailing outgoing councilor Marvin Rillo with 78,698 and 80,249 votes, respectively.

Outgoing Councilor PM Vargas, who is eyeing to replace his brother, District 5 Rep. Alfred Vargas, is leading with 103,350 against Rose Line with 72,388.

In District 6, outgoing councilor Marivic Co-Pilar is leading against former District 1 representative Bingbong Crisologo with 95,471 and 523,673, respectively.

Leading in the council races in District 1 are BH Bernard Herrera (120,063), TJ Calalay (117,189), Doray Delarmente (115,253), Sep Juico (102,685), Nikki Crisologo (93,383) and Charm Ferrer (90,786)

District 2: Mikey Belmonte (146,939), Candy Medina (146,202), Aly Medalla (121,663), Dave Valmocina (117,665), Rannie Ludovica (107,097) and Godie Liban (103,345).

District 3: Kate Coseteng (73,528), Dok Lumbad (65,503), Chuckie Antonio (63,055), Don De Leon (57,853), Wency Lagumbay (54,394) and Anton Reyes (53,366).

District 4: Egay Yap (86,074), Imee Rillo (83,255), Raquel Malañgen (82,26), Irene Belmonte (79,344), Nanette Daza (77,871) and Marra Suntay (76,233).

District 5: Joseph Joe Visaya (139,591), Alfred Vargas (136,727), Ram Medalla (107,462), Shay Liban (96,310), Aiko Melendez (94,367) and Mutya Castelo (89,393).

District 6: Doc Ellie Juan (88,638), Kristine Donny Matias (86,886), Eric Medina (81,484), Banjo Pilar (72,656), Vito Sotto Generoso (70,888) and Victor Bernardo (66,150).


  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with
no session for state
no session for code
no session for id_token
no session for user