Senate panel OKs bill splitting Maguindanao into 2 provinces
Cecille Suerte Felipe (The Philippine Star) - October 28, 2020 - 12:00am

MANILA, Philippines — A bill seeking to divide Maguindanao into two provinces was approved by the Senate committee on local government on Monday.

The Senate panel approved House Bill 6413, which seeks to split the province into Northern Maguindanao and Southern Maguindanao.

Committee chairman Sen. Francis Tolentino said a technical working group would discuss where to place the seat of government in the two provinces.

Datu Odin Sinsuat is being eyed as the capital of Southern Maguindanao and either Buluan or Shariff Aguak in Northern Maguindanao.

Maguindanao Rep. Esmael Mangudadatu, one of the principal authors of the measure, said Southern Maguindanao will be composed of 24 towns while Northern Maguindanao will have 12.

”Not all redistricting is harmful... Politically motivated gerrymandering will worsen wastage of public resources while economically motivated gerrymandering will lead to improved provision of public services,” Mangudadatu said.

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with