Ernesto D. Lariosa, Vanguard of Cebuano Literature
CEBUPEDIA - Clarence Paul Oaminal (The Freeman) - March 8, 2019 - 12:00am

The Vanguard of Cebuano Literature, a title bestowed on him by the Cebu City Council through Resolution No. 652 (2003) for winning the Palanca Award three times, was born on December 11, 1944 in Tabionan, San Fernando, Cebu. He grew up in Panadtaran, San Fernando.


Lariosa is part of the famed poetry group, ALBICALARIVI (taken from the first syllable of the members’ surnames) which is the precursor of Bathalad (Bathalan-ong Halad sa Dagang, Inc). Since 1964, he has written more than 300 poems and 150 stories. He has also written dramas and short novels on love.

Recognized for his excellence in Cebuano writing, he received the 2003 Gawad Pambansang Alagad in Balagtas for poetry and story from the Unyon ng mga Manunulat sa Pilipinas, and National Commission for Culture and the Arts.

He also received the following awards: 2004 National Fellow, UP Diliman “Likhaan” for Regional Literature, 1991 Cultural Center of the Philippines Literary Grant in Cebuano Poetry, 1993 CCP Literary Grant in Cebuano Criticism, Palanca Award for Cebuano Short Story (which he won thrice), 2004 Southwestern University Most Outstanding Alumnus for Literature and Journalism, twice-proclaimed Writer of the Year of Bathalad (1993 and 2005), Hall of Famer in Cebuano Poetry by Bathalad (2006), 1980 Gintong Butil Award for Best Publication Editor by National Food Authority in 2010, and the 2013 Best Column Writer by the Cebu Archdiocesan Mass Media Award.

He finished three courses: Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Science in Education Major in English and History, and Bachelor of Laws. He has written a book, “Crack Shot and Other Studies” translated by DR. Hope S. Yu of the Cebuano Studies Center published by the USC Press.

Nyor Erning wrote the first Cebuano epic “Kalisub” in two volumes (5,000 lines), the first volume was published by Bisaya Magazine.

Nyor Erning is part of the group called by then Dean of Writers, D.M. Estabaya, as the “Street Poets” who had their gatherings on the sidewalk of the then Hope Pharmacy along Leon Kilat and Colon Streets, Cebu City, from 1969 up to 1970s. Nyor Erning was awarded one of the “Top 15 Literary Writers in Cebuano in the Post-World War II Era” during the Golden Jubilee Convention of Bathalad, last February 25, 2019.


  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with