Freeman Cebu Sports

CECABA season 17: Batch 1988 bags Division A crown

The Freeman
CECABA season 17: Batch 1988 bags Division A crown
The members of KNM & Toxic Wheels Batch 1988 pose with pride after emerging as Division A champion of CECABA Season 17.
Cecaba Photo/Jessie Magno

CEBU, Philippines — The KNM & Toxic Wheels Batch 1988 completed its clean sweep of Pilipinas Shell Batch 1978/84/89 with a decisive 86-58 win in Game 2 of their best-of-three finals to clinch the Division A title of the Cebu Eastern College Alumni Basketball Association’s 17th Dr. Chen Lieh Fu Memorial Cup last Sunday, June 23, at CEC’s Chiang-kai Shek Gym.

Team director Rey Kenneth Ng shepherded Batch 1988 to crowning glory with a game-high 25 points, including 14 in the first half that wheeled the KNM-backed squad to a double-digit edge, 34-23, at the break.

Batch 1988 sustained its momentum to pad its lead to 19 points, 53-34, after three quarters.

It was then that Erwin Yu joined the scoring spree, dropping 11 of his 20 points in the final period to help seal Batch 1988’s 28-point blowout of the oldest competing graduates.

Robert Lim also cracked double figures for Batch 1988 with 11 points.

Under the guidance of playing coach Charlie Ong, the other members of Batch 1988 are John Philip Po, Harry Villamor, Richard Yu, Ernest Tanting, Gregorio Aguilar, Robert Tiu, and Melton Dy.

Chester Cokaliong, who founded the league two decades ago, led the first runner-up with 23 points. Jeff Go tallied 18 markers, while Ryan Alexis Mendez had 14 points in a losing effort. — (FREEMAN)

vuukle comment


  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with