Freeman Cebu Sports

IBP Basketball League: Dissenters Bad Boys clinch back-to-back championships

Emmanuel B. Villaruel - The Freeman

CEBU, Philippines —  The Dissenters Bad Boys whipped up a furious endgame assault to turn back the Spartans, 75-71, in their sudden-death final match to emerge as back-to-back conference champions of the Integrated Bar of the Philippines (IBP) Basketball League 2022 over the weekend at the Capitol Parish Gym along Escario Street in Cebu City.

Kenneth Kernn Sesante, who mentored the University of Cebu (UC) Webmasters to a first runner-up finish in last year’s Cebu Schools Athletic Foundation, Inc. (CESAFI) season, tossed in nine of his 15 points in the fourth period spotlighted by the game-winning triple to romp off with the Finals MVP award.

Luis Fajardo sizzled with 18 points including huge baskets in the crucial stretch while Richard Bauzon added 15 markers for the Dissenters, who pounded the Spartans, 28-16, in the final 10 minutes of action.

Everyone though have their fair share in catapulting the Dissenters to crowning glory.

Down by 12 points in the last quarter, the Dissenters of playing head coach Al Limalima staged a courageous fightback sparked by Lorenzo “Thirdy” Igot’s booming 3-pointer and Ian Santos’ perimeter jumper.

Fajardo joined the scoring spree anchored on his excellent moves at the post to help the defending champions knot the count at 71-all.

The Dissenters eventually seized the lead, 72-71, on a free throw by Edwin Estorgio with only 38 seconds left to play. Estorgio, the Finals MVP when the Bad Boys ruled the First Conference via a 64-45 rout of the Pañeros, scored seven of his nine points from the foul line.

Sesante then sealed the Dissenters’ great escape by hitting a cold-blooded trey in the final 3.5 seconds that plunged like a dagger in the heart of the Spartans.

With Jonas Asis as assistant coach and Mark Rosal as team manager, the other members of the Dissenters Bad Boys back-to-back champions are Edward Bauzon, Judge Ferdie Riveral, Kent Jongoy, Jay Viagedor, Willem Bagazin, Noel Bragat, Tadz Tumaodos, Angelito Ortiz, Dax Montealegre, Patrick Esmeralda, Ivan Gamallo, Deo Albeos, and Fillmore Gomos.


  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with