Freeman Cebu Sports

A new legend is born

FEEL THE GAME - Bobby Motus - The Freeman

When basketball legends are mentioned, Magic Johnson, Larry Bird, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Wilt Chamberlain, Julius Erving, Michael Jordan, Kobe Bryant and Shaquille O’Neal among others come up.  Current players reaching the level of the above-named are LeBron James, Stephen Curry and Kevin Durant. 

With his legendary Finals performance, Giannis Antetokounmpo joined the super elites of the game.

Only 26-years old, Giannis averaged 35.2 ppg, 13.2rpg and 5apg in the championship series, becoming the first player in NBA Finals history to average 30+ points, 10+ rebounds and 5+ assists on at least 60% shooting.  According to Basketball Reference’s database, he’s the first player to have 50 points, 10+ rebounds and 5 blocks in any playoff game.

It has been a long 50 years since Milwaukee had their title and the 50 points Giannis scored was just fitting. He was almost laser-guided in that close-out game, making 16 of 25 shots and converting 17 of 19 free throws. 

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, then known as Lew Alcindor, was a legend in the making at that time and at 24-years old, he was instrumental in that title run, becoming the Finals MVP and regular season MVP.

In a comparative data among legends when they were 26, Giannis has an NBA title, a Finals MVP and 2 regular season MVPs.


        Magic Johnson          1 title     0 F-MVP     0 MVP                                                     

        Larry Bird                     0 title      0 F-MVP     0 MVP                                                     

        Wilt Chamberlain       0 title      0 F-MVP     1 MVP                                                     

        Michael Jordan           0 title      0 F-MVP     1 MVP                                                           

        Shaquille O’Neal       0 title      0 F-MVP     0 MVP                                                           

        Kobe Bryant                0 title      0 F-MVP     0 MVP                                                            

        Lebron James           0 title      0 F-MVP     2 MVP                                                            

        Kevin Durant              0 title      0 F-MVP    1 MVP                                                            

        Steph Curry                0 title      0 F-MVP    0 MVP


As per StatMuse, the Greek Freak is the first player in league history to win MVP, F-MVP, Most Improved Player and Defensive Player of the Year.  No other way to say it – freakish.

Meanwhile, Chris Paul is battling father time and the latter is always undefeated.16 years is a long stretch to get into the NBA Finals and getting back to the next post-season will be a hard climb. It’s going to be a wait-and-see for CP3 and the rest of the Suns who just disappeared in the horizon.



  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with