Freeman Cebu Sports

DRDO Team 2 rules PRO-7 RD’s Cup shootfest

The Freeman

CEBU, Philippines —  The Deputy Regional Director for Operation (DRDO) Team 2 reigned supreme in the five-man team event of the PRO-7 RD’s Marksmanship Challenge and Proficiency Cup staged at the Cebu Wonderland Shooters Club in Barangay Agus, Lapu-Lapu City.

Bannered by PCPT Joffre Grande, PSMS Maria Kharen Martinez, PSSg Renil Francis Jimenez, PSSg Enrico Tayactac, and PCpl Adonis Gallo, the DRDO Team 2 tallied the highest aggregate score of 1,148 points to top the five-day shootfest spearheaded by PRO-7 chief BGen Ronnie Montejo in partnership with the Cebu Central Eagles Club (CCEC) through its comelec chair DPWH-7 assistant regional director Engr. Mario Montejo and sports committee head Engr. Jerry Maratas.

The organizers also stamped their respective classes. BGen Ronnie Montejo ruled the Star rank category, Engr. Mario Montejo lorded it over the DA/SF executive division, while Engr. Jerry Maratas wound up first runner-up in the PRR unlimited division.

 In the team competition, the Explosive Ordnance Disposal (EOD) K9 Unit manned by PMAJ Danilo Yema, PCMS Miraluna Banquil,  PSMS Nemesio Paragsa, PMSg Victor Blancas, and PSSg Donald Principe finished  second overall with 1,029 points, while  the Regional Operations and Management Division (ROMD) of PMAJ Jovito Labra, PMSg Esmer Gahi, PSSg Almir Catapusan, PSSg Danilo Fernandez, and PCpl Janeth Marquez took the third place honors with 1, 016 points.

On the other hand, the PNP PRO-7 Team of PMAJ Keith Allen Andaya, PCMS Christopher Panes, PCMS Jerybel Lerio, PSSg Joedelmar Pones, and PSSg Alvin Velasquez emerged as champion among guest teams.

In the individual category, the top performers were PMAJ Jovito Labra of ROMD and PSSg Eddiely Augusto of the CCPO (double action striker-fired), PCpl Joseph Galbizo of ORD and PSSg Eddiely Augusto of CPPO (Patrolman to PSgt), PEMS Norli Abellanosa of OCRS and PCMS Miraluna Banquil of EOD K9 (PMSgt to PEMS), PMAJ Jovito Labra of ROMD and PLT Analiza Comaling of Samboan PS (PLT to PMAJ), and PLTCOL Dexter Calacar of CCPO and PLTCOL Ma. Theresa Macatangay of Danao CPS  (PLTCOL to PCOL).

PCMS Renante Cabasag came out on top among match officers.

The champion among civilian shooters were Richard Buot (unlimited), Rudy Quiseo (super SR), Jessie Capoy (stock hi-cap), Col. Raymund Recaido, PA (senior), Pat Comendador (super SR), Condrado Alega (single stack), Nogie Biagan (senior and classic 4S), Freanita Saldua (lady), Chito Hernandez (carry optics), Noli Yu (super SR), Richard Laure (DA/SF), Kelly Abella (senior), Leo Aviola (super SR), James Klyde Encarnacion (junior), Jerybel Lerio (lady), Gerald Brigoli (limited 10), and Ric Bono (super SR).

Also in the winners’ circle were Christopher Pane (revolver), Condrado Alega (lawman/single stack), Raymund Recaido (stock hi-cap), Richard Laure (DA/SF), Arthur Chua (PRR limited), Howard Cena (PCC limited), Chito Hernandez (PCC unlimited), and Miguel Osmena (PCC micro).

The best marksmen among match officers were Lito Caro (single stack), Wilfredo Pulvera (stock hi-cap), PCMSG Jerybel Lerio (DA/SF), PSSG Bryan Bolongon (limited 10), and PCMSG Deo Clarin (revolver). — EBV

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with