Laguna’s Medina rules CEPCA’s 30th anniversary chess tourney
Emmanuel B. Villaruel (The Freeman) - October 27, 2020 - 12:00am

CEBU, Philippines —  Former Philippine Youth team standout Vince Angelo Medina reaffirmed the dominance of Manila and Luzon-based players in regular online tournaments organized by the Cebu Executives and Professionals Chess Association (CEPCA) since the sports lockdown in March due to the pandemic.

This after the Cabuyao, Laguna-native Medina bested a strong field of contenders to rule CEPCA's 30th anniversary offering billed as the "4th Engr. Boy "Chessmoso" Pestaño Memorial Chessfest" played last Sunday on

Medina, an erstwhile Shell National Youth Active Chess champion and Palarong Pambansa and ASEAN Age-Group gold medalist, completed the mind-draining 15-round Swiss competition with the highest output of 12.0 points to clinch the coveted title.

The 24-year-old Medina, who pocketed P2,500 for his efforts, anchored the National University (NU) Bulldogs to team chess championship during the 2017 UAAP season. He now plays for the De la Salle-College of St. Benilde.

Valenzuela City's top pawnpusher Rowell Roque and Cebuano National Master Merben Roque both tallied 11.5 points but Rowell took the solo second place honors by virtue  of a higher tiebreaker.

Sherwin Tiu, currently a member of the Philippine Christian University (PCU) chess squad, wound up fourth with 11.0 points while the fifth to eighth spots were occupied by FIDE Master Zander Severino, NM Jeth Romy Morado, Rolzon Roullo, and Richard Villaceran with 10.5 points each.

Rounding up the top 12 with 10.0 points apiece were Jerome Villanueva, NM Rommel Ganzon, Bryle Arellano, and NM Giovanni Mejia.

Making it to the top 20 were Arje Villarin, Antonio Cabibil, Grandmaster Joey Antonio, NM Alfredo Acaling, Richard Natividad, Dennis Adlawan, NM Rogelio Enriquez Jr., and Rosendo Yamyamin with 9.5 points.

Held in memory of the late Boy Pestaño, one of CEPCA's founding fathers back in 1990, te club's annual anniversary tilt was made possible through the support of the Pestaño family, CEPCA President Engr. Jerry Maratas, and US-based Cepcans Engr. Alex Chua and Engr. Josito "Jojo" Dondon.

It was also backed up by Atty. William Cordova, Engr. John Velarde/Barracks Chess Club, Dr. Leo Lofranco, Engr. Roberto Inocian, Archt. Filemon Kapuno III,  Dr. Edwin Cablao, Engr. Vince de la

Torre, Antonio Cabibil, Ronald Arnado, and  Normal Martin Olayvar.

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with