Gullas Cup U21 hoop on today
Emmanuel B. Villaruel (The Freeman) - January 25, 2020 - 12:00am

CEBU, Philippines —  It’s that time of the year again when the young aspiring cagers as well as those hidden talents just waiting to be spotted from Cebu’s First District get a chance to showcase and further sharpen their hardcourt skills via the Gullas Cup:Vision 2020 Under 21 Basketball Tournament, which takes off today at the Talisay City Sports Complex.

In a press conference yesterday, Cebu First District Rep. Eduardo “Eddiegul” R. Gullas, the brainchild of Cebu’s longest existing developmental basketball program, takes pride for the Gullas Cup for living up to its mission and vision over the course of its five-decade existence.

“We are able to unite the people of the 1st District of Cebu,” said Gullas. “Sustain our youth and sports development, discover new talents, and provide opportunity for the players to get college education (through athletic scholarship).”

Since its establishment in 1970 with Minglanilla emerging as its first ever champion, the Gullas Cup has produced some of the country’s brightest cagers, most notable among them are PBA stars Roger Pogoy and Brian Heruela.

Over the years, it has also sent a substantial number of potential athletes to varsity teams in various schools here and in Manila.

“It’s really a tournament that they look forward to each year,” said Gullas.

Before the games, a simple opening ceremony will take place at 2 p.m. to be graced by Gullas and his grandson, Talisay City Mayor Samsam Gullas.

After the exhibition match between the Talisay LGU and Naga LGU at 3:30 p.m., the Gullas Cup action will commence.

The Minglanilla Archangels will lock up horns with the Naga Electrifiers in the 5 p.m. opener, while the Talisay City Aquastars start their title defense against the Carcar City Lechoneros in the main attraction at 6:30 pm.

The other contenders of the month-long tilt are the Sibonga Pillars and the San Fernando Spartans.

They will play a single round robin, with the top four advancing to the crossover semifinals. The winners will dispute the title in a best-of-three series, while the losers will battle for third place in a sudden-death duel.

The champion will pocket P80,000, while the second to fourth placers will take home P50,000, P40,000 and P30,000, respectively. Non-winners will receive a consolation prize of P15,000 each.

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with