Alegado Cup top achievers honored
Emmanuel B. Villaruel (The Freeman) - October 16, 2019 - 12:00am

CEBU, Philippines — The top performers and individual achievers of the 10th Mayor Alegado Cup Inter-Barangay Fiesta Basketball League were formally feted during an elaborate awards night over the weekend at the Consolacion Sports Complex.

Rey Gonzaga Jr. of Casili, Lymuel Malagar of Poblacion Oriental and Filhart Suson and Joseph Bill Pepito of Polog bannered the list of outstanding awardees.

Gonzaga and Suson were the Finals Most Valuable Players in the seniors category A and B, respectively, while Malagar and Pepito emerges as the regular season MVPs.

They were joined in the Mythical Five by Larry Malagar of Poblacion Oriental, Dwight Gonzaga of Casili, Chris Yonnel Perolino of Pulpogan, Reynaldo Pardillo and Ichael Villamor of Garing, and Jenmar Arcilla of Lanipga.

In the SK juniors, John Paulo Dalumpines of Pulogan and Jessie Bathan of Tolotolo both swept the Finals and season MVP trophies.

They automatically made it to the Mythical Five together with Jun Carlo Manatad, Regnier Gonzaga, and Kendrick Bob Alcover of Casili, and Jayrald Baring of Tayud, and Jay Harold Herbieto of Tolotolo, Kevinson Labapez of Polog, and Edimz Pongase and Von Xyle Tundag of Garing.

Rovello Robles of Pulpogan and Shannon Capangpangan of Polog stole part of the show by grabbing both the Finals and season MVP honors in the midgets category.

They were also named in the Mythical Five alongside Prince Arnold Soquino of Pulpogan, Vince Luke Daclan of Jugan, and Cassidy Christian Elorpe and Jowil Sugarol of Tayud, Junrix Casag of Garing, Florence Alipan of Polog, Joshua Aguanta  of Tolotolo, and Gabriel Alilin of Garing.

Clarkrence Bongo of Rico’s Catering was named Finals MVP in the 13 Under category while Lester Cañete of SPEAK snared the award in the 16 Under age group. Aside from receiving gift certificates, Bongo and Cañete will also enjoy free admission in the Coach A Basketball Training Camp of coach Kareem Alocillo.

Meanwhile, Mark Junrey Garbo (Tayud), Raymundo Osabel (Pulpogan), Louie Malagar (Pob. Or.), Florence Alipan (Polog), Von Xyle Tundag (Garing) and Thomas Martel (Polog) were cited as the Most Defensive Players while Prince Arnold Soquiño (Pulpogan), John Ian Ouano (Casili), Dwight Gonzaga (Casili), Junrix Casag (Garing), John Carlo Alivio (Tolotolo) and Ichael Villamor (Garing) were the Most Improved Players. (FREEMAN)

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with