Siargao paddlers score twinkill in Maharlika Ocean Cup
Gloreitta T. Lariosa (The Freeman) - July 11, 2019 - 12:00am

CEBU, Philippines — The Philippine Deep Boardriders Club of Siargao claimed two championship trophies in the first Maharlika Ocean Cup held over the weekend in Mactan Island.

PDBC of Jason Anito, Racel Racho, Vincent Chua, Jayhmar Alcala, Lemuel Gorgonio and Elson Gorgonio clocked in 53 minutes and 30 seconds to rule the 8K category. Host team Island Buzz of Buzzy Budlong, Gary Benedicto, Saysay Igot with their Japanese teammates Edward Phillips and Shinji Yamadaand Rick Garvisof Hawaii, settled for second with a time of 56:24.

Their second title came from the 1K category. Team UN (5:59) and Island Buzz (7:16) clinched the second and third place, respectively.

Meanwhile, Siargao paddlers Angel Griffin and Jason Anito lorded it over in the 300-meter Stand Up Paddleboard (SUP) Sprint race.

Griffin crossed the finish line in two minutes and 23 seconds to clinch the women’s title beating Cebu’s Jade Abellana (2:50) and Myra Mae (2:52).

Anito, for his part, ruled the men’s side with a time of two minutes and three seconds. Cebuano paddlers Saysay Igot came in second place with 2:15, while Gary Benedicto (2:21) wound up third.

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with