Nacario, Japitana top Cebu Epic
Gloreitta T. Lariosa (The Freeman) - June 12, 2019 - 12:00am

CEBU, Philippines — The tandem of Edwin Nacario Jr. and Leopoldo Japitana bagged the elite championship trophy of the Cebu Epic 2019, a cross country marathon mountain bike race which traverses the mountains of Cebu and Toledo, the other day.

Nacario and Japitana of Team Cool Cycles finished the 80-kilometer off-road trail in four hours, seven minutes and 35 seconds. They outpaced Cebu’s bets Dongkey Sanchez and Melvin Codoy of Keith DeFiebre Cycling Team (4:11:59), while Team Amorganda’s Nino Surban and Rafael Amorganda (4:27:57), who settled in second and third place, respectively.

Team Lazpag’s Ramxes Niño Pabuaya and Jay Jet Parilla lorded it over in the 55K mini epic category with a time of 4:06:06. Their closest pursuers were Jwyn Muyco and Romnick Bebit of Team Cool Cycles (4:27:59), while Jay Alvin Escala and Elias Matthew Rosales of Team Bike Ta Bai- Medellin wound up third with a time of 4:40:50.

In the age-group category, Jessiedel Arnado and Recarl Abas of Team North Cyclist (4:33:37) ruled the 20-29 division while

Alexander Diaz and James Kho of Team Cebu Cycling (5:15:06) dominated the 30-39.

The winners in the 40-49 and 50-above categories were Cebu Cycling Larang Team’s Rodjard Soriba and Harry Jumamoy (6:06:12) and Team Lagalag Singapore’s duo Nilo Pantaleon and Berner Teorica (7:20:21), respectively.

Keith DeFiebre Cycling Team’s Athena Magpantay and Pamela Jane Ruiz (7:22:35) clinched the women’s open crown. (FREEMAN)  

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with