Talisay rules Gullas Legacy Cup
Emmanuel B. Villaruel (The Freeman) - February 10, 2019 - 12:00am

CEBU, Philippines —  Whether at their home turf or on the road, the Talisay Aquastars proved to be a formidable fighting force on the hardcourt.


Displaying great team effort and executing their game plan to the letter when it mattered most, the Aquastars went on to sweep the Carcar Lechoneros in their best-of-three finals anchored on a decisive 87-59 victory in Game 2 to clinch the championship of the Samsam Gullas Cup 3.0 Cebu 1st District Legacy Cup Inter-Cities and Municipalities Basketball Tournament on Friday night at the Carcar City Sports Complex.

Fired up by their 90-72 rout of the Lechoneros in the series opener before their adoring fans last February 5, the raging Aquastars had little trouble in finishing off their rivals with an average winning margin of 23 points to cap their unbeaten run of eight games.

“To all the Talisaynons who rally behind the Talisay Aquastars, thank you very much. Without your support, we would not have achieved this triumph,” said Talisay head coach Rey Michael Gurrea.

Raffy Bacasmas dished out a solid double-double show of 18 points and 11 rebounds to emerge as Best Player of the Game. Jay Deiparine was equally-impressive with 18 points, nine assists, five boards and two steals for the Aquastars, who unleashed a furious offensive in the second half to flatten the Lechoneros.

Ahead by just six at halftime, 31-37, the Aquastars outscored the Lechoneros in the third period, 17-10, then dropped a devastating 33-18 bomb in the windup to pulverize the hapless Carcaranons by 28 points at the final buzzer.

Keaton Clyde Taburnal also figured prominently in Talisay’s masterful demolition of Carcar with 16 points, five assists, three rebounds and three steals as well as Michael Tabay Jr. with 15 points, seven rebounds, two assists and two steals.

The Aquastars pocketed P80,000 for their feat, while the Lechoneros took home P60,000.

Deiparine, Talisay’s top hitman and the league’s scoring champion with an average of 22.2 points per game, was honored as the season MVP.  He was joined in the elite Mythical Five by his teammate Elmer John Villabrille, Rey Joseph Alfeche of Carcar, Ronald Geraldino of the San Fernando Spartans and Lyle Eredera of the Minglanilla Archangels.

 Earlier, Alvier Alforque scattered 20 points and Ryzel Gilbuena added 11 markers as Minglanilla edged San Fernando, 70-66, claim the P40,000 third prize.

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with