Tabal rewrites history, wins six straight title
Caecent No-ot Magsumbol, Gloreitta T. Lariosa (The Freeman) - December 10, 2018 - 12:00am

National Milo Marathon

CEBU, Philippines — Cebuana Olympian Mary Joy Tabal rewrite history as the first marathoner to establish a six-peat in the National Milo Marathon after ruling the 42nd edition of the annual footrace held in Laoag City, Ilocos Norte yesterday.

Fellow Cebuano and Olympian Roy Vence of Bogo also won the battle six times, but not in six straight years.

Tabal though failed to break her personal best, but managed to keep the crown she first won back in 2013 with a time of two hours, 56 minutes and 31 seconds.

"Compared to my previous performances, this is not my best and I am not satisfied but I am still happy because I defended my title and finished the race safe," said Tabal."I dedicate this victory to my late father. Actually the night before the race, I was crying because I still feel the the sadness until now."

Tabal's triumph also paved the way for her to once again don the country's colors in next year’s Southeast Asian (SEA) Games where she is the defending champion in women's marathon event.

"I will join Tokyo Marathon on March 3 and if I failed to qualify then I would possibly compete again i Canada then I will prepare for the next SEA Games. I will resume training next month," added Tabal.

Cristabel Martes wound up second in 2:59:29 ,while Cristine Hallasgo came out third with a 3:06:16 clocking.

Cebu leg winner Ruffa Sorongon placed fourth in 3:14:22.

Rounding up the top 10 cast were Cinderella Lorenzo (3:15:04), Maricar Camacho (3:15:10), Mirasol Abad(3:16:41), Sandy Ab ahan (3:20:49) and Janice Nerza(3:20:54).

In the men's division dominated by Rafael Poliquit (2:28:47), Cebu leg champion Keenanlou James Caburnay landed at seventh place in 2:36:56, while fellow Cebuano Joseph Arnel Emia finished ninth in 2:38:14.

Jerald Zabala placed second in 2:31:25 followed by Richard Salano (2:33:17). Completing the top 10 list were Jeson Agravante(2:33:42), Anthony Nerza(2:35:20), Bryan Quiamco(2:35:21), Cesar Castaneto Jr.(2:36:59) and Eric Panique (2:38:26). (FREEMAN)

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with