Alvarez completes 3-peat, Oporto second overall
(The Freeman) - November 20, 2017 - 4:00pm

CEBU, Philippines — Bayani Alvarez completed a historic grandslam while Rhoda Oporto got the crown she missed last year after they stamped their classes in the 3rd Cebu Northwest 100-mile Ultramarathon, a grueling race from Daanbantayan town north of Cebu to Plaza Independencia that ended early morning last Sunday.

Alvarez of the Spectrum Runners Club finished the lung-busting action that covers a total of 160 kilometers in 19 hours and 20 minutes, way ahead of the 34-hour cut-off.

Paul Delposo was a distant second with a 26:52 clocking as Marlon Baay placed third in 27:09.

Oporto snared the women's crown with a time of 25 hours and 39 minutes, even faster than Delposo and Baay to place second overall.

Marjorie Jore came out second in 28:13 followed by Daisy Batac, who registered 29:19 upon crossing the finish line.

Included in the top 10 overall finishers were Neil Catiil (28:59), Jake Soriano (29:01), Sylar Merson (29:06) and barefoot runner Villy Ponferrada (30:03).

They are all qualified to join in the One Cebu 550-kilometer Ultramarathon next year.       

Race director Edward Colina said out of the 45 entries, only 11 did not finish the race. — Caecent No-ot Magsumbol with Gloreitta T. Lariosa

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with