Freeman Cebu Sports

69TH Talisay landing anniversary sidelight ‘Baroto’ race a resounding success

EBV - The Freeman

CEBU, Philippines - The 'baroto' race spicing up the 69th Anniversary Celebration of the historic Landing of the American Liberation Forces last March 26 on the shores of Talisay City ended up with a big blast, with no less than the host Talisaynons sweeping most of the top prizes at stake in the unique competition that featured sailboats maneuvered by Cebuano fishermen.

Dubbed as 'Balik Baroto ug Layag Na Ta", the one-of-a-kind contest was conceived by the Organizing Committee headed by Dir. David "Kuya Boy" S. Odilao, Jr. to acknowledge the efforts, sacrifices, skills and capabilities of Cebuano fishermen while traversing the seas using their 'Barotos' and 'Layag' as a means of transportation.

"We should not forget what our forebears used to do during the olden days, using ‘baroto’ (boat) and ‘layag’ (sail) as means of transportation and at the same time a source of livelihood," said Odilao, who is also revered as the Father of Sinulog Festival. "And it is but fitting to hold this noble undertaking in conjunction with the historic Talisay Landing to further highlight that we should always look at our past full of insight and with pride."

Odilao was assisted by Capitol Consultant of Peace and Order and Head of Cebu Provincial Anti-Illegal Fishing Col. Romeo O. Tapayan, PN (Ret.), Cebu Unified Eagles Club President Dr. Edilberto "Kuya Bert" Alvarado, and broadcaster Robert "Bobby" Inoferio in running the highly-successful event.

At the conclusion of the race, Talisay's bets, all from Brgy. Tangke, swept the top four spots led by the tandem of Lyndon and Ricardo Sumalinog, who completed the grueling race covering a distance of approximately five kilometers in one hour, five minutes and nine seconds. They pocketed P50,000 for their feat.

Arnold Cabalda and Mario Cañon, who were just 51 seconds behind the Sumalinogs, took home P40,000 for placing second, while Marton Abenez and Charly Abapo clocked in the third best time of 1:08:57 to pocket P30,000.

Gilbert Obrero and Edgar Angcon got P20,000 for finishing fourth with the time of one hour, 10 minutes and 32 seconds, while Jonathan Lopez and Jimmy Billones from the municipality of Tuburan rounded up the top five list with the time of 1:12:52.

To further serve its purpose of helping marginal fishermen of Cebu, 10 "barotos" were raffled off during the awarding ceremony. The winners were Witchel Pelores/Fernando Demicillo, Renante Demicillo/Fernando Lopez, and Jonathan Lopez/Jimmy Billones of Tuburan, Juanito Jumao-as/Allan Obrero, Denise Mingito/Jerry Palando, Arming Embino/Lino Obero, and Camilo Bacus/Anthony Monleron of Brgy. Tangke, Gilbert de la Cuesta and Edgar Angcon of Brgy. Dumlog, and Rey Basel/Juny Abellana and Edgar Obero/Nesly Cañeda of Brgy. Cansojong.

Odilao, on the other hand, expressed his profound gratitude to all those who, in one way or another, have greatly contributed to the success of the 'Balik Baroto ug Layag Na Ta' spectacle.

Chief among them is the province of Cebu under the dynamic leadership of Gov. Hilario P. Davide III and Vice Governor Agnes A. Magpale. The other major benefactors are the League of Municipalities of the Philippines (LMP)-Cebu  Chapter through its President and Tuburan Mayor Democrito "Aljun" Diamante, Jr., and the city of Talisay led by Mayor Johnny V. de los Reyes.

"With a grateful heart, I would like to extend my sincerest thanks to our dear sponsors, benefactors and some well-meaning friends for their full support and cooperation in making this special event a reality. Above all, our profound gratitude to Hon. Hilario P. Davide, III and the Provincial Government of Cebu for their unwavering support towards the realization of this noble activity," said Odilao. (FREEMAN)












  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with