Cebu News

2 lawyers, mayor's wife vie for Lapu-Lapu congress seat

Romeo T. Limpangog - The Freeman

CEBU, Philippines —  Three candidates are vying to represent the lone district of Lapu-Lapu City in the House of Representatives in the 2022 elections.

They are incumbent City Councilor Atty. Michael Dignos of Team Deretso, Cindi King-Lim, wife of Mayor Junard Chan, of Team Libre and another Lapu-Lapu native, Atty. Manuel Degolacion.

Aside from being a lawyer and councilor, Dignos’ experience in public service includes serving as the chief of staff of then congressman Arturo “Boy” Radaza and serving as former legal officer of the city.

For his part, Degolacion, aside from being a lawyer, had long been serving as prosecutor until his retirement.

Mrs. Chan, for her part, is currently the chairperson of the Tourism Cultural and Historical Affairs Commission of Lapu-Lapu City.

Cebu City filers

Meanwhile, in Cebu City, a total of 63 individuals have filed their certificates of candidacy (COC) for the next year’s elections.

Based on the list of the Commission on Elections, those running for representative in the North District are Rachel Marguerite “Cutie” del Mar of Nationalist People’s Coalition (NPC) who is allied with the Bando Osmeña-Pundok Kauswagan (BOPK); Manuel Momongan, independent; Niña Mabatid of PDP-Laban and allied with Partido Barug PDP-Laban; Avenescio Piramide of Lakas CMD; and Richard Yap of National Unity Party (NUP).

In the South District, they are Michael Bantasan sa NUP; former mayor Tomas Osmeña of Liberal Democratic Party (LDP) and BOPK; and Eduardo Rama Jr. of PDP-Laban who is allied with Partido Barug.

Eight are also running for mayor of Cebu City: Edgar Concha, independent; Jose Layon of REPORMA; Juanito Luna, independent; Michael Matanoza of ABAG PROMDI; Margarita “Margot” Osmeña of LDP/BOPK; Michael Rama of PDP-Laban/ Partido Barug; Crisologo Saavedra Jr., independent; and David Tumulak, independent.

For the vice mayoralty post, the candidates are Francisco Fernandez of Liberal Party; Raymond Alvin Garcia of PDP-Laban/Partido Barug; and Franklyn Ong of LDP/BOPK.

Running for city councilors in the North District are: Pastor Alcover Jr., Sisinio Andales, Nestor Archival, Alvin Arcilla, Gian Andre Aznar, Arturo Barrit, Mary Ann delos Santos, Alvin Dizon, Emmanuel Labella, Roland Empleo, Joel Garganera, Jerry Guardo, Edwin Jagmoc, Lea Japson, Edgardo Labella II, Melvin Legaspi, Peter Mancao, Maria Buanghug, Reynald Lauron, Noel Wenceslao, Winston Pepito, and Joy Augustus Young.

Running for city councilors in the South District: Josephine Maglasang Alan Dinampo, Raul Alcoseba, Gremar Barete, Roberto Cabarrubias, Alejandro Cabido, Janet Sudario, Raymundo Domingo Crystal, James Anthony Cuenco,  Harry Erran, Pancrasio Esparis, Rey Gealon, Donaldo Hontiveros, Cornelio Jaca, Omar Kintanar, Clifford Niñal, Ana Gabriela Beatriz Osmeña, Renato Osmeña Jr., Samuel Panilagao, Jocelyn Pesquera, Simeon Romarate, and Phillip Zafra.

Authorities have assessed the eight-day filing period to be peaceful and orderly. — Decemay P. Padilla, JMD (FREEMAN)

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with