Salimbangon, Bacaltos uphold term-sharing for PCL-Cebu’s seat
Lorraine L. Ecarma (The Freeman) - August 20, 2019 - 12:00am

CEBU, Philippines — Councilor Francis Edward Salimbangon of Tabogon town has been elected as president of the Philippine Councilors League (PCL)-Cebu Chapter.

But Salimbangon will only be serving half of his term.

Salimbangon and Sibonga Councilor Caroline Bacaltos have agreed to uphold a term-sharing agreement, which applies to the entire slate of officers in the PCL-Cebu.

Salimbangon’s group will serve the first 15 months, while the camp of Bacaltos will serve the next 19 months of the 34-month term until June 30, 2022.

Both camps arrived at the agreement of term-sharing because they belong to the same alliance.

Salimbangon, the son of former Fourth District Rep. Benhur Salimbangon, belongs to the National Unity Party, while Bacaltos belongs to the Nacionalista Party, both allies of Governor Gwendolyn Garcia of Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban) and 1Cebu Party.

Salimbangon’s slate for the PCL elections, which were held at the Capitol Social Hall yesterday, ran unopposed owing to the agreement.

As for the legality of the agreement between the two groups, Salimbangon said he still has “no idea.”

“We will have to consult that with the DILG (Department of Interior and Local Government),” he said.

Governor Gwendolyn Garcia, in a separate interview, commended both groups for coming up with a compromise agreement.

“I am appreciative of the fact na puro allies ang nag-vie for the top position but eventually both camps decided on a compromise,” she said.

The other elected PCL officers are Toledo City Councilor Ricardo Pepito (vice president), Alexseus Celis of Boljoon (secretary general), Tabogon Councilor Jojessa Hortellano (treasurer), Mary Greleigh “Lovely” Cabrera of Santa Fe (auditor), Madridejos’ Emelita Gabito (press relations officer) and Tudela’s Cyrus Otadoy (business manager).

Salimbangon, who is on his second term as councilor, will sit as ex-officio member in the Provincial Board, replacing now Catmon Vice Mayor Earl Tidy Oyas.

When asked if the 15-month term is sufficient time for him to carry out PCL programs and projects, Salimbangon said he will maximize it.

“Of course mubo ra na. Maninguha lang ta unsa atong kaya nga i-implement,” he said.

There are 524 councilors from the 51 towns and cities of Cebu province. (FREEMAN)

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with