Bets told: File your SOCEs
Odessa O. Leyson (The Freeman) - May 23, 2019 - 12:00am

CEBU, Philippines — Weeks before the deadline, the Commission on Elections (Comelec)-Cebu City has reminded all midterm election candidates to submit their Statement of Contributions and Expenditures (SOCE).

South District Election Officer Marchel Sarno said candidates who won and lost in the recent elections are required to submit their respective SOCE, otherwise they will be slapped with an election offense.

The deadline for the filing of SOCE is on June 12.

“Diha nato mahibaw-an og pila ang ilahang election expenses,” he said.

For first time violators, they will pay an administrative fine of P1,000 to P3,000. The second-time offenders will pay a fine of P2,000 to P60,000 and will be disqualified from holding public office.

Under the Omnibus Election Code (OEC), candidates are allowed to file their SOCE not later than 30 days after Election Day.

For south district candidates, their SOCEs will be submitted to the office of Sarno, while the north district candidates will have to file their SOCEs at the office of Chauncey Boholst, the election officer in the north.

“Ang atong awhag sa nidagan, nidaog man siya o wala, mo-submit sila sa SOCE para walay sanctions,” Sarno said.

As of press time, Comelec has not yet received any SOCE from any of the election bets in the city.  Boholst, however, said there are individuals who asked for forms already.

Candidates in the city during the May 13 elections include Tomas Osmeña, Mary Ann de los Santos, David Tumulak, Raul Alcoseba, Eugenio Gabuya Jr., Roberto Cabarrubias, Michael Gacasan, Bryan Kirk Repollo, Marie Velle Abella, Rengelle Pelayo, Nestor Archival, Alvin Arcilla, Alvin Dizon, Jerry Guardo, Joy Augustus Young, Lea Japson, Sisinio Andales, Marlo Maamo, Raul Del Mar, Rodrigo Abellanosa, Edgardo Labella, Michael Rama, Donaldo Hontiveros, Phillip Zafra, Erik Espina, Francis Esparis, Gerard Carillo, Renato Osmeña Jr., Eduardo Rama Jr., Antonio Cuenco, Prisca Niña Mabatid, Rey Lauron, Ernest Herrera, Noel Wenceslao, Ramil Ayuman, Joel Garganera, Pastor Alcover Jr., Raymond Alvin Garcia, Jocelyn Pesquera and Richard Yap, among others. — GAN (FREEMAN)

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with