Magpale leads outstanding Cebuano awardees
Gregg M. Rubio (The Freeman) - August 20, 2016 - 12:00am

CEBU, Philippines - Cebu Vice Governor Agnes Magpale is leading this year’s awardees of The Outstanding Cebuano Award (TOCA).

Magpale is awarded in the field of women’s and children’s advocacy for being the co-chairperson of the Provincial Women’s Commission and the Provincial Commission on the Welfare of Children.

At the same time, Magpale will serve as the keynote speaker during tonight’s awarding ceremony to be held at Sacred Heart Center, Cebu City, said TOCA executive director Engr. Greg Senining.

Other awardees are Cordova Mayor Mary Therese “Teche” Sitoy-Cho in the field of local government service; Tabuelan Councilor Zito “Titing” Gallo in the field of community service; San Remigio Municipal Planning and Development Coordinator Engr. Romarico Cabellon in the field of engineering-information and communications technology; Michael Cubos in the field of young entrepreneurship; Engr. Segismundo Exaltacion, Jr. in the field of corporate management being the first Filipino president of Tsuneishi Heavy Industries, Inc.; Capt. Emerico Gepilano in the field of maritime industry; Dr. Eduardo Malagapo in the field of engineering-higher education; Engr. Joel Mandawe in the field of education; and Archt. Jensen Racho in the field of architecture.

Now on its 16th year, the TOCA award aims to honor outstanding Cebuanos on their contributions in the community and in nation-building.

 The award categories are extended to Cebuanos who excel in their own fields of endeavor and have a high level performance in the field for which they are nominated.

The awarding ceremony is the main highlight of DyCM’s “Tingog sa Lungsod Program” 34th anniversary celebration anchored by Senining. (FREEMAN)


  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with