For K to 12 program: New rules in awarding students set

Salve V. Asis (The Freeman) - June 9, 2016 - 12:00am

CEBU, Philippines - Apart from the reformation of the school curriculum under the K to 12 Basic Education Program, the Department of Education has introduced a new set of policy guidelines in awarding and recognizing students.

The new policy guidelines were introduced on Tuesday, June 7, through DepEd Order 36-2016 that directs all schools offering K to 12 Program to adopt such starting this school year.

"Effective school year 2016 (to) 2017, the policy guidelines on awards and recognition for the K to 12 Basic Education Program shall be implemented in public elementary and se-condary schools, including Grade 6 classes under the old Basic Education Curriculum," said DepEd Secretary Br. Armin Luistro.

The directive was addressed to all regional directors, school division superintendents, school heads of elementary and secondary schools both public and private and all other concerned offices.

Apart from the public schools, administrators of private schools, higher edu-cation institutions, technical-vocational institutions, state and local universities and colleges, offering the program are tasked to promulgate the new guidelines set.

Any modifications on the said policy guidelines are subject to the approval of the respective DepEd regional offices, said Luistro.

The newly-issued po-licy articulates the recognition given to learners who have shown exemplary performance in specific areas of their studies.

 "These awards have been designed to formally recognize the outstanding performance and achievement of learners in acade-mics, leadership, and social responsibility, among other aspects of student progress and development. These awards are given to encourage learners to strive for excellence and to become proactive members of the school and community," said Luistro.

Under the new guidelines, the awards to be gi-ven to students include the categories: classroom awards, grade-level awards, and special recognition.

"Special Recognition is given by the school to the learners who have represented and/or won in competitions at the district, division, regional, national, or international levels. This is to publicly affirm learners who have brought honor to the school," it stated, among others.

Specific awards for all grade levels were laid out under each category.

The new directive is in accordance to the implementation of Republic Act 10533, otherwise known as Enhanced Basic Education Act of 2013 (K to 12 Law).

The K to 12 Program covers Kindergarten and 12 years of basic education: six years of primary education; four years of Junior High School (Grade 7 to 10); and two years of Senior High School (Grade 11 to 12).

The Senior High School covers the additional two years from the scraped old basic education curriculum that only lasts until the Grade 10 level.

Starting this school year 2016 to 2017, it is necessary for Junior High School completers to finish Grades 11 and 12 to graduate from high school and proceed to college if they wish to. (FREEMAN)

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with