Freeman Cebu Entertainment

Winners at this year’s Sinulog Film Festival

Januar Junior Aguja - The Freeman

CEBU, Philippines —  As the COVID-19 pandemic forced organizers to cancel their 2021 and 2022 editions, the Sinulog Film Festival returned this year with the screening of entries and awarding ceremony taking place March 20 at The Atrium of Robinsons Galleria.

Ana Antipuesto’s “Nibuhagay Ang Milagro” won the top prize for Best Short Film, followed by Zhynnon Mar Mantos’ “Para Niya, Para Niya” in second place, Januar Yap’s “2100” in third place, Jessee Carl Atienza’s “Paabot” in fourth place, and Jecelle Noval’s “Ang Sugilanon ni Esperanza” coming in fifth.

Yap and Antipuesto also won Best Director, and Best Story and Screenplay, respectively. Other Best Director nominees were Noval, Atienza, Antipuesto, and Mantos, while Mila Lagahit and Bianca Marie Cabrera were nominated for Best Story and Screenplay for “Para Niya, Para Niya”.

Antipuesto said in her acceptance remarks that she was grateful “that I can get more than just a prize as I was also able to connect with my fellow alumni from my old school and be with them here.”

In the acting category, Lagahit won for her performance in “Para Niya, Para Niya”, besting fellow nominees Jolaica Amiana for “Menshahe Alang Kang Dante”, Maite Marques for “2100”, Sarah Ann Valiente for “Ang Sugilanon ni Esperanza”, and Ligaya Rabago for “Larawan.”

Jessee Carl Atienza won Best Actor for his turn in “Paabot”. His fellow nominees were Jhay Bruce Garcia for “Singko”, Joworski Alipon for “9 Days”, Rohan Bayno for “Baybayon ni Brando”, and Van Duke Gacayan for “Niño Ninyo.”

Virgie Aying was named Best Supporting Actress for “9 Days”. She was nominated along with co-star Akiko Solon, Star Cabrera de Garcia for “Singko”, Jim Carba for “Pagtoo”, and Ferliza Contratista for “Niño Ninyo”.

Rajah Sungahid (Paabot) and Dante Luzon (“Mensahe Alang Kang Dante”) tied for Best Supporting Actor, seeing off nominees Michael Sta. Maria for “Niño Ninyo”, Anela Abella for “9 Days”, and Eli Tecson for “Larawan.”

The Best Child Performer award went to Gia Antipuesto for “Nibuhagay Ang Milagro”. She was nominated with Allyx Dhy Suson for “Rebolto”, Jade Putot for “Pagtoo”, Angel Sabequil for “Palihug Hinumdumi”, and Ean Keara Cabrera de Garcia for “Rebolto.”

Ruel Antipuesto won Best Production Design for “2100”, besting Antipuesto, Lara Jianni Batulan for “Para Niya, Para Niya”, Rachel Angel Rosal for “Paabot”, and Steph Metcalf for “Ang Sugilanon ni Esperanza.”

Migz Yntig Dapat nabbed Best Cinematography in “Paabot”, besting Ana Antipuesto, Mantos, Ronnie Gambao for “Ang Sugilanon ni Esperanza”, and Ruel Dahis Antipuesto for “2100.”

Best Editing went to Alan Rico Jr. for “Ang Sugilanon ni Esperanza”, while Atienza won Best Sound Engineering & Musical Scoring.

Minor awardees were Joseph Louis Tromis’ “Baybayon ni Brando” for Best Poster, Roldan Ardines’ “Larawan” for Best Film Guide, and Yap’s “2100” for Best Packaging.

The best documentary was awarded to Chinga Lea Yamson’s “Kauban: Pagtoo, Pagsalig, Pagtinabangay”, about a man from Sitio Kapihan named Yayat Bordas whose dream is to play the drums for Sinulog, and the efforts of his community to ensure this comes true despite his illness.

This was followed by “Sirong: The Other Dance for the Sto. Niño” directed by The FREEMAN photojournalist Aldo Nelbert Banaynal in second place, “Lapu-Lapu Paradox” by Brian Brusas in third place, “Just for Today” by Yap in fourth place, and “Praise Worship Dance” by Atienza in fifth.

Yamson was also selected Best Director, while Brusas won Best Voice-Over Narration for “Lapu-Lapu.”

Best Production Design was given to Banaynal and Clandestine Films for “Sirong” over Atienza, Ione Velaquez for “Lapu-Lapu Paradox”, Popit T. Quisagan for “Kauban”, and Pearl Danielle Ragaña for “Sangpit.”

Best Cinematography was awarded to Mer Louise Sanico for “Kauban” over Velasquez, Johnrey Tanjusay and Charlie Dasmariñas for “Sirong”, Ruel Antipuesto for “Just for Today”, Rico Jr. for “Praise Worship Dance”, and Keinth Calungsod for “Sangpit”.

Best Editing went to Khenn Sanico for “Kauban”, over Rico Jr., Velasquez, Yap, and John Lindsey Banynal for “Sirong”.

Best Sound Engineering & Musical Scoring was won by Ferdz Grizal Gambing for “Kauban”, over John Lindsey Banaynal, Yap, Brusas, Atienza, and Calzada.

Yap’s “Just for Today” nabbed Best Poster, Best Film Guide, and Best Packaging.


  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with