Brightest student athletes feted in CPC Awards Night

The Philippine Star
Brightest student athletes feted in CPC Awards Night
La Salle's Kevin Quiambao
UAAP Media Bureau

MANILA, Philippines — The stage is set as the Collegiate Press Corps (CPC) honors the brightest athletes and best coaches of the 2023-2024 athletic season in its Annual Awards Night presented by San Miguel Corp. tonight at the Discovery Suites Manila in Ortigas, Pasig City.

This year’s awards night will recognize the stellar student-athletes of UAAP Season 86 and NCAA Season 99 with Collegiate Men’s Basketball Player of the Year Kevin Quiambao of La Salle headlining a total of 23 awardees.

Quiambao, the UAAP Season 86 MVP and Finals MVP, steered the Green Archers to the UAAP men’s basketball throne to snap a seven-year title drought following a thrilling three-game series win against the UP Maroons.

Also taking the spotlight is Kent Pastrana of the University of Santo Tomas as the inaugural recipient of the Collegiate Women’s Basketball Player of the Year in the ceremony backed by the Philippine Sports Commission.

Pastrana, who was named Player of the Year for team events by the UAAP, played a vital role in the Growling Tigresses’ stunning upset of seven-peat champion National U to end a 17-year title futility.

With Quiambao in the Men’s Mythical Five are NCAA Rookie-MVP Clint Escamis of Mapua, UP’s Malick Diouf, Lyceum’s Enoch Valdez and Jacob Cortez of San Beda.

For the first time, the CPC will also have a Women’s Mythical Five including Pastrana and teammate Tantoy Ferrer, Far Eastern University’s Josee Kaputu, UP’s Favour Onoh, and Kacey dela Rosa of Ateneo.

vuukle comment



  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with