Paliwag, Morris shine in PPS La Carlota

The Philippine Star
Paliwag, Morris shine in PPS La Carlota
Matthew Morris (left) and Shara Louise Paliwag are two of the fresh faces to emerge from the country’s longest-running talent-search.
STAR / File

MANILA, Philippines — Louise Paliwag and Matthew Morris racked up two victories apiece in varying fashions as they clinched the MVP honors in the PPS-PEPP national age-group tennis circuit at the Lacta tennis courts in Negros Occidental last Friday.

The top-seeded Paliwag survived Queen Villa, 1-4, 4-1, 10-6, in the semis then crushed Mitch Cruspero, 6-0, 6-0, to bag the girls’ 14-U crown in the Group 2 tournament presented by Dunlop. She then held off Jasmine Jaran, 7-5, 6-1, to pocket the 16-U diadem.

Fellow Valencia, Negros Oriental bet Morris showed a lot of promise in his side of the battle as he survived top-seed Andrian Rodriguez tormentor Amik Serillo, 7-6(5), 6-4, to snare the boys’ 12-U trophy. The unranked but talented 11-year-old netter then overwhelmed Rafa Callao, 6-2, 6-0, in the 14-U finals to post the only other two-title feat in the five-day ranking tournament put up by Palawan Pawnshop president/CEO Bobby Castro.

Meanwhile, action shifts to Malabon City starting Tuesday when the PPS-PEPP Fr. Fernando Suarez Memorial Cup Open Championship is held at the Malabon Tennis Club with some of the country’s leading and rising players expected to see action. For details, contact event organizer Bobby Mangunay at 0915-4046464.

Sharing the spotlight in the La Carlota leg, which drew close to 200 entries from eight age categories, were Bacolod’s Alexander Po, local ace Jufe-Ann Cocoy and Cadiz City bets Jeremy Napire and Rylie Villamejor.


  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with