PBA hands out awards tonight
Matthew Wright of Phoenix (left) and Stanley Pringle of Ginebra are in the running for the top award.
PBA Image

PBA hands out awards tonight

Olmin Leyba (The Philippine Star) - January 17, 2021 - 12:00am

Bubble’s best, brightest

MANILA, Philippines — Will it be a breakthrough for Stanley Pringle of champion Ginebra, Matthew Wright of Phoenix, statistical points leader Bobby Ray Parks Jr. and RR Pogoy of TNT or CJ Perez of Terrafirma?

Or a second award for “Comeback Kid” Calvin Abueva of Phoenix?

The six bubble standouts set out to take centerstage as the PBA hands out the Best Player of the Conference (BPC) plum to highlight tonight’s virtual Special Awards ceremonies for the Season 45 Philippine Cup bubble.

In observance of health and safety protocols, the pro league has set a simple, hour-long program to fete the best and brightest of the extraordinary All-Filipino play.

The rites start at 6 p.m. and will be broadcast live from the TV5 studio in Mandaluyong City. All nominees in the five categories and eventual winners will be presented through video call.

Parks, Abueva, Perez,

Wright and Pogoy finished in the Top 5 of the statistical points race, which comprises 40 percent of the criteria for selecting the winner. Pringle wound up sixth and earned his spot in the shortlist by being the top SPs earner from the victorious Gin Kings.

Abueva, who famously returned to active duty after a 16-month suspension in the Clark bubble, was BPC in the Season 41 Commissioner’s Cup.

The six lead the 20 candidates for the Elite Five, the bubble’s version of the Mythical Five in the old normal.

The Most Outstanding Rookie and Most Improved Player of the Clark tourney also get a share of the spotlight in the hour-long rites.

Terrafirma’s Roosevelt Adams, Meralco’s Aaron Black, Alaska’s Barkley Ebona, Magnolia’s Aries Dionisio and Ginebra’s Arvin Tolentino dispute the coveted trophy for the league newcomers.

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with