Onte, Bona dominate PPS Trenas netfest
Dante Navarro (Philstar.com) - January 14, 2020 - 1:31pm

MANILA, Philippines – Alexandra Onte and Kendrick Bona fashioned out a pair of straight-set triumphs to share MVP honors in the PPS-PEPP Mayor Jerry Trenas national age-group tennis tournament at LaPaz Plaza courts in Iloilo City over the weekend.

Onte repulsed top seed Aleeva Suace, 6-1, 6-0, in the girls’ 12-and-under finals then the rising local star blasted Dolores Hofileña, 6-2, 6-3, to pocket the 14-U diadem in the Group I tournament presented by Dunlop.

Fellow Ilongga Althea Martirez, however, foiled her bid for a third crown, posting a 6-4, 6-2 victory in the 16-U finals before beating Abigail Aguirre, 6-0, 6-1, for the 18-U plum to likewise complete a two-title feat in the second leg of a 40-leg junior circuit put up by Palawan Pawnshop-Palawan Express Pera Padala headed by president/CEO Bobby Castro.

Bona also stamped his class in the boys’ side, whipping Ian Iturriaga, 6-0, 6-2, for the 12-U crown then the Puerto Princesa find and MAC’s Crankit Tennis Academy protégé warded off Elemar Sealza, 6-3, 7-5, in the 14-U finals.

Two other local bets hurdled their respective final round opponents with Rafael Santiago thwarting Lourain Jallorina, 4-0, 1-4, 4-1, for the 10-unisex title and Nickel Nowlakha escaping with a 5-7, 6-4, 10-7 decision over Joshua Raymundo in the 18-U division.

Raymundo, from La Carlota, took the 16-U crown with a 6-3, 6-2 romp over Benedict Santiago.

Next up is the PPS-PEPP Fr. Fernando Suarez Open on Jan. 27-Feb. 2 in Cebu featuring the men’s singles and doubles, the juniors Group I and the Legends 40s, 50s and 60s divisions. Listup is ongoing. For details, call PPS-PEPP Sports Program Development director Bobby Mangunay at 0915-4046464.

Meanwhile, Joenel Llavore and Danny Sajonia routed Rodel Borres and Aaron Palomo, 8-2, to pocket the 40s plum in the Legends category of the event sanctioned by the Unified Tennis Philippines made up of PPS-PEPP, Cebuana Lhuillier, Wilson, Toby’s, Dunlop, Slazenger and B-Meg.

Llavore made it a double victory as he teamed up with Jovy Morante to edge Borres and Jun Sorbrevega, 8-7(3), in the 50s finals while Gene Caymo and Marnel Teruel held off Elmer Albes and Raymund Tabuga, 8-5, for the 60s crown.

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with