Reigning PBA All-Star 3-point king Maliksi tries to buck shooting slump

Blackwater's Allein Maliksi

PBA Images
Reigning PBA All-Star 3-point king Maliksi tries to buck shooting slump
( - May 2, 2018 - 12:53pm

MANILA, Philippines – Allein Maliksi is not about to let his shooting woes get in the way as he seeks to retain his three-point title in the upcoming PBA All-Star game.

The Blackwater gunner faces stiff competition in the All-Star side event as he bids to become the latest two-time champion of the contest that features some of the league’s finest marksmen.

Out to challenge Maliksi for his crown are former champions James Yap of Rain or Shine and TnT Katropa’s Terrence Romeo, the back-to-back, two-time winner until Maliksi dethroned him in last year’s edition held in Lucena City.

 “Kailangan paghandaan mabuti kasi mataas yung level ng competition ngayon,” he said. “Tsaka lalo ngayon (season) medyo masama ang shooting ko.”

Also listed in the shootout contest to be held in Batangas City during the second leg of the mid-season event –  with Phoenix Fuel with Phoenix Pulse Technology as major sponsor and supported by PEAK sports apparel and PBA RUSH Cignal – on May 25 featuring the men’s national team against the Luzon selection, are Marcio Lassiter (San Miguel), Paul Lee (Magnolia), LA Tenorio (Barangay Ginebra), Stanley Pringle (Globalport), Matthew Wright (Phoenix), Larry Fonacier (NLEX), JVee Casio (Alaska), Ronald Tubid (Columbian Dyip) and Garvo Lanete (Meralco).

Last year, Maliksi beat Tenorio after sinking the money ball on his final attempt for the win, 20-18.

“Si LA ang ganda ng performance niya, sa dulo lang ako nakahabol,” he recalled of last season’s thrilling win.

As defending champion, Maliksi rests uneasy on his throne with the stiff competition he’ll be facing this time.

“Nakakakaba pa rin kasi siyempre gusto mong ma-defend yung crown,” said the 30-year-old wingman. “Ever since naman talaga yung dream ko makasali sa three-point shootout simula nung pumasok ako sa PBA. Kasi sa (slam) dunk  hindi naman tayo makasali, lalo ngayon hindi na tayo masyadong makatalon, so sa three-point shootout na lang.”

Mark Macapagal is the only four-time winner of the event first institutionalized in 1992, emerging champion from 2010-2012 and in 2014.

Other two-time winners are Jimmy Alapag, Boyet Fernandez, Jasper Ocampo and the late Ric-Ric Marata. 

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with