JuneMar Fajardo

SMB’s gentle giant to receive PSA award
(The Philippine Star) - February 22, 2018 - 12:00am

MANILA, Philippines — JuneMar Fajardo struts his big frame on the big stage next week as he leads the major awardees in the SMC-PSA (Philippine Sportswriters Association) Awards Night at the Maynila Hall of the Manila Hotel.

The 6-10 San Miguel Beer slotman will be bestowed the Mighty Sports Mr. Basketball award during the Feb. 27 rites presented by Milo and Cignal TV for another dominant PBA season last year that saw him romp off with an unprecedented fourth straight MVP trophy.

Fajardo became the first-ever player to win the league’s highest individual award four consecutive seasons – and only the third in history to emerge a four-time MVP after legends Ramon Fernandez and Alvin Patrimonio.

This will also be the fourth straight time the oldest media organization in the country is honoring the 28-year-old center for excellence in basketball.

Last year, Fajardo firmed up his claim as the biggest name in Philippine basketball today after steering the Beermen to a record-tying three straight Philippine Cup championships that allowed the SMC franchise to become only the second team in PBA annals to bring home the Jun Bernardino Perpetual trophy after TNT Katropa.

The former No. 1 pick out of University of Cebu also proved his worth by leading Gilas Pilipinas to a sweep of the Southeast Asian Basketball Association (SEABA) Championship, and then suited up for the national team in its FIBA Asia Cup campaign despite suffering a strained calf muscle prior to the ballclub’s departure for Beirut, Lebanon.

Previous players hailed as Mr. Basketball were Calvin Abueva and Terrence Romeo.

Volleyball players Dawn Macandili and Marck Espejo as well as golfer Clyde Mondilla are also recipients of special awards during the event backed by the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) as major sponsor and backers in the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA), Mighty Sports, Globalport, Rain or Shine and Smart.

Macandili, named the second Best Libero during the 2017 Asian Women’s Volleyball Championships here, will be handed the Ms. Volleyball title, while Espejo is Mr. Volleyball on account of his winning a fourth UAAP MVP trophy after steering Ateneo to a third straight championship.

For topping the Philippine Golf Tour Order of Merit (OOM), Mondilla was named the Mr. Golfer of the Year.

The four special awardees are part of the total 105 personalities and entities which make up the season’s honor roll, topped by PSA-Tapa King Athlete of the Year Jerwin Ancajas, Carlo Biado, and Krizziah Lyn Tabora.

Agriculture Secretary Manny Piñol, a former sportswriter, columnist and boxing analyst, will be the event’s special guest of honor.

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with