Petron’s Cherry Ann Rondina (right) hits a looper of a spike as teammate Bernadette Pons looks on during their title clash with Generika Ayala A’s Patty Orendain and Fiola Ceballos at SM By the Bay at the MOA grounds | JUN MENDOZA

Filipino spikers test mettle in 29th SEA Beach Volleyball tiff
( - September 19, 2017 - 9:59am

MANILA, Philippines — Three Filipino teams will try to win the 29th Southeast Asian Beach Volleyball Championship in Singapore on September 28.

Two-time UAAP champion Cherry Rondina will team up with last year's UAAP runner-up Bernadeth Pons, while Patty Jane Orendain and Fiola Ceballos will complete the second team.

Pons and Rondina ruled the 2017 PSL Beach Volleyball Cup under Petron while Orendain and Ceballos finished as runners-up.

UAAP Season 79 gold medalist Anthony Arbasto, meanwhile, will join runner-up Jude Garcia for the country's lone men's team.

The SEA Beach Volleyball Championship is organized by the Volleyball Association of Singapore with the support of Unusual Limited and The Co-Organization.

“Singapore is proud to organize SEA Beach Volleyball Championships for the first time, and this certainly will not be the last. Aside from putting up a fierce fight for the trophy, this gives us a good opportunity to showcase Singapore's hospitality, culture and lifestyle,” said VAS president Ang Wei Neng.

Thailand will be defending the crown they won two years ago in Laos with two men's and women's team. Singapore will have three men's and women's team.

Other countries that will be competing are Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Timor-Leste and Vietnam.

All games will be played at the Palawan Beach in Sentosa.

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with