Wild finish looms as S’woods takes lead

Olmin Leyba (The Philippine Star) - February 28, 2015 - 12:00am

DANAO CITY , Philippines – With former pro Vince Lauron leading the way, Manila Southwoods seized a one-point lead over defending champion Orchard, hinting at a wild race to the finish with the host team and former champion lurking behind in the 68th Philippine Airlines Men’s Interclub.

Lauron birdied the last two holes to card a two-over par 73 worth 34 points in the PAL scoring system at the ravine-laden layout Club Filipino de Cebu layout to help Southwoods to a Friday output of 126 for a three-day haul of 365.

Southwoods also got a pair of 31s from Jose Jetts Sajulga and Joseph Tambunting and a 30 from Jun Nestor Pastor – the 29 of Manfred Guangko didn’t count – as it pushed past the Rodel Mangulabnan-led Orchard in the leaderboard heading into today’s final round at the Cebu Country Club course.

Back-to-back-seeking Orchard stayed within striking range with Mangulabnan scoring 36, Stephen King Stehmeier adding 32 and Peter Paul Salvador norming 31 for a 124 for the day and 364 overall.

Cebu CC moved into third spot with 358 after turning in a 121 built around Gen Nagai’s 33, Mark Dy’s 32, Bayani Garcia’s 29, and Carl Almario’s 27.

Second-round leader Wack Wack slipped to fourth in a tie with Del Monte with identical 357 aggregates. Wack Wack pooled a 116 courtesy of John Edward Gobing (30), Tootsie de Jesus (29), Garry Uy (29) and Gabriel Manotoc (28) while Del Monte had a day-high 129 anchored on Gelbert Gamolo (35), Crispin Aparilla (32), Julius Bautista (32) and Julius Langamin (30).

GMA, Cavite-based Southwoods is gunning for its first championship since 2001.

“It’s not a comfortable lead but it’s still a lead,” said SW skipper Thirdy Escano.

Southwoods will field Antonio Asistio, Thirdy Escano, Theody Pascual, Justin Quiban, and Ryu Ken Yasuma for the final round at Cebu CC’s tree-lined course against Orchard’s finishers Kristoffer Arevalo, Jan Philippe de Claro, Raymund Sangil, Aian Arcilla and Alain Stehmeier.

Cebu CC will enter Eric Deen, Montito Garcia, Nagai, Marko Sarmiento and Kiyofumi Takahashi while Wack Wack will lean on Tomas and Gabriel Manotoc, Ernesto Marcelo, Joseph Oliver Gan, and Gobing in their efforts to join the mix.

“The boys’ morale is high. We believe they can do it,” said SW non-playing captain Jerome Delariarte, part of their last champion team.

Meanwhile, Alabang CC, behind the sizzling performances of a pair of teenagers, closed in on the Founders division crown as it paced second-running Apo Golf by 22 points.

Liam Cully, 15, and Philippe Palanca, 13, churned in 31 markers while Anthony See and skipper Arnel Paras chipped in 28 and 26, respectively, to give Alabang a 116 for the day and 355 overall.

From 11th, Apo soared to No. 2 after logging 128 anchored on Enrico Gavino, who came through with hot 39 points. Juan Karlos Alba (33), Jorge Martinez (31) and Leo Fusilero (25) also scored for Apo.

“These kids prepared hard for this tournament and we’re glad they delivered,” said Paras, whose crew also has the chance to win the overall title being just 10 points off Southwoods.

Alta Vista also pooled a 333 while Negros had a 328 followed by Valley Golf at 327 and Tagaytay Highlands at 324.

One Mega, People Asia, Hotel H20, Travelife, Boeing International Corp., Business Mirror and GE Aviation are sponsoring the PAL Interclub Seniors and Regular Men’s events. Other backers include Manila Bulletin, Mareco Broadcasting Network (Crossover), Whealth Inc., Aerospace, Uniglobe Travelware Co. Inc., Tanduay Distillers and Intercontinental Manila.


Scores after 3 rounds:


Manila Southwoods 365, Orchard 364, Cebu 358, Wack Wack 357, Del Monte 356, Forest Hills 302, Royal Northwoods 281, Fil Am Fairfield 238, Veterans 235, Camp Evangelista 230, Camp Aguinaldo 229, Figme 156


Figme Dubai 210, Brotherhood Sharp 209, Skywest 204, Van City Golf 195, Pittsburg Fil Am 195, SFO Crystal Spring 181, MSU 180, Mabuhay Golf Club SFO 175, Moffet Field 154, Austral Asian Golf Melbourne 153, Baguio 149, Yokohama Eagles 118


Alabang 355, Apo Golf 333, Alta Vista 333, Negros 328, Valley Golf 327, Tagaytay Highlands 324, Riviera 323, Rancho Palos Verdes 323, Villamor 320, Club Filipino de Cebu 316, Davao 304, Eagle Ridge 300, Pueblo de Oro 298, Iligan golf 298, Manila Golf 279, Zamboanga 272


Socal Red Hawk 321, Fil Am Hawaii 288, Stanford 288, Iloilo 286, Mactan Island 281, Sta Elena 279, Camp John Hay 279, Sarangani 273, PGA Brirish Columbia 266, SFO Maharlika 264, Lumbia 264, Victorias Golf 262, UP Tee Jots 256, Philippine Navy 251, Pearl Kai Hawaii 247, Bay Area 242, Green Tee Riyadh 240, Sherwood Hills 239, South Cotabato 235, Lanang 229, Bacolod 223, Cotabato 223 San Juanico 222, Guinhalaran 218, Seattle 213, Fil Oz Sydney 209, South Bay 207, Greenhills West 181, Greater Vancouver Golf Assoc 174, Northgate 171, Team Leyte 166, Filipino Golfers Assoc Kuwait 154, Figme UAE 153, Mt Malindang 146.

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with