New Rizal representatives to be elected in 2022

Robertzon Ramirez, Edu Punay (The Philippine Star) - May 9, 2021 - 12:00am

MANILA, Philippines — Qualified voters in the newly created legislative districts in Rizal will elect their representative in the regular polls next year, the Commission on Elections (Comelec) said yesterday.

Under Republic Act 11533 signed by President Duterte last month, the second district of Rizal will be composed of the municipalities of Cardona, Baras, Tanay, Morong, Jala-Jala, Pililla and Teresa.

San Mateo will comprise the third district and Rodriguez the fourth district.

“The law provides that the reapportionment will take effect in the 2022 national and local elections,” the Comelec said.

The poll body said the incumbent representative of the second district of Rizal would serve until June 30, 2022.

Antipolo will continue to have one representative for each of its two districts.

Rizal second district Rep. Juan Fidel Nograles said the law creating two new districts in the province would go a long way in adressing issues of inequity and ensure that Rizaleños will have better access to government resources.

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with