The 2017 8 Bravo Empowered Women awardees share the stage with a special awardee: (from left) Rowena Balingcos, receiving the award for Sr. Mary Placid Abejo, OSB, Bravo Woman for Arts, Culture and Heritage; Zarah Juan, Bravo Woman for Business; Susana Guerrero, Bravo Woman for Culinary Arts; Elsie Maria Romano, Bravo Woman for Education; Sunshine Lichauco de Leon, receiving a special award on behalf of her grandmother Jessie Lichauco; Shiela Buxani Callao, receiving on behalf of Sadhana ‘Nana’ Buxani, Bravo Woman for Media & Public Affairs; Dr. Mary Beth Maningas, Bravo Woman for Science & Technology; Susan Ople, Bravo Woman for Social Services; and Yvette Medalla, Bravo Woman for Sports.

8 Bravo Empowered Women Awards
(The Philippine Star) - October 28, 2017 - 4:00pm

MANILA, Philippines -  Winners of the ‘8 Bravo Empowered Women Awards’ have been named, recognizing Filipinas who demonstrated an unwavering commitment to leadership and service, enabling themselves and others toward economic and social progress. The Zonta Club of Makati & Environs and Security Bank Corporation have partnered for this project because of their shared advocacy to empower women who help build a better society through their individual achievements and personal advocacies. The ‘8 Bravo Empowered Women Awards’ was created in 2015 and the nationwide search is conducted every two years where winners are chosen after a stringent process of nominations.



The awarding ceremony was held on Aug. 16, at the JYD Hall of the Security Bank Centre in Makati City.

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with