fresh no ads
The 2018 Ateneo Art Awards welcomes new beginnings |

Arts and Culture

The 2018 Ateneo Art Awards welcomes new beginnings

PLATFORMS - Arianna Mercado - The Philippine Star
The 2018 Ateneo Art Awards welcomes new beginnings
Ateneo Art Awards 2018 Purita Kalaw-Ledesma shortlisted writers and special citation with partners: Philippine STAR Lifestyle editor Millet Mananquil (left) and (back row, from left) Joey Mabilangan of Kalaw-Ledesma Foundation Inc., Juan Paolo Colet, Jayvee Del Rosario, Jose Carlos Joaquin Singson, and Maria Lourdes Garcellano; (front row, from left) Lisa Mabilangan-Coory of Kalaw-Ledesma Foundation Inc., Sabrina Jeongco, Dr. Wally Ledesma of Kalaw-Ledesma Foundation Inc., Alec Madelene Abarro, Mary Jessel Duque, and Boots Herrera of Ateneo Art Gallery.
Photos by Joey Viduya

This year, Ateneo Art Awards introduces exciting new changes and elements to its esteemed prizes in visual arts and art criticism.

Issay Rodriguez

The Ateneo Art Gallery recently released its lists of shortlisted writers for the Purita Kalaw-Ledesma Prizes for Art Criticism and the Fernando Zobel Prizes for Visual Arts, introducing young and bright new names to their roster.

Ronson Culibrina

Since 2014, the winner of the Purita Kalaw-Ledesma Prizes for Art Criticism has been awarded with a column in The Philippine STAR for a year. Two years ago, the Ateneo Art Awards introduced a second prize, given to another writer to publish bi-monthly articles to an acclaimed Hong Kong-based magazine, ArtAsiaPacific. This year, the Ateneo Art Gallery introduces new facets to the prizes, introducing a new collaboration with the Embassy of Spain and Instituto Cervantes through Perro Berde, an annual publication on arts and culture promoting interaction and cultural dialogue between the Philippines and Spain. The awardees of the prize will get the chance to publish their writings in the 8th forthcoming issue of Perro Berde. The Ateneo Art Gallery also plans to launch a new website during the awarding in August called Vital Points: Essays from the Purita Kalaw-Ledesma Prizes in Art Criticism, as an independent platform for past and present awardees to publish their critiques beyond the printed form.

Robert Langenegger

The six shortlisted writers for the Purita Kalaw-Ledesma Award for Art Criticism are: Alec Madelene Abarro, Juan Paolo Colet, Jayvee Del Rosario, Mary Jessel Duque, Sabrina Jeongco, and Jose Carlos Joaquin Singson. Special Citation: Maria Lourdes Garcellano.

Johanna Helmuth

The Fernando Zobel Prizes for Visual Arts is awarded to three exceptional visual artists under the age of 36. Each winner is invited to an international artist residency with the Ateneo Art Gallery’s partners: La Trobe Art Institute (Bendigo, Australia), Artesan Gallery + Studio (Singapore), and Liverpool Hope University (Liverpool, UK). This year, the Ateneo Art Gallery welcomes a new partner, Ambassador Giorgio Guglielmino, who will award one among the 12 shortlisted artists the Embassy of Italy Purchase Prize.

Mars Bugaoan

The 12 shortlisted artists for the Fernando Zobel Awards for Visual Arts are: Mars Bugaoan, Bea Camacho, Ronson Culibrina, Dina Gadia, Johanna Helmuth, Ian Carlo Jaucian, KoloWn, Robert Langenegger, Issay Rodriguez, Ciron Señeres, Jel Suarez, and Elias Miles Villanueva.

Ciron Señeres

The Ateneo Art Awards 2018 exhibit is currently on view at The Grand Atrium, Shangri-La Plaza until July 30. The show will be transported to the Ateneo Art Gallery, Ateneo de Manila University from Aug. 10 to Nov. 4, where the awarding will take place on Aug. 26, Sunday, 4 p.m.

Elias Miles Villanueva
Jel Suarez

*   *   *

The Ateneo Art Awards is co-presented by the Ateneo Art Gallery, Shangri-La Plaza and Kalaw-Ledesma Foundation; in partnership with Areté, ArtAsiaPacific Magazine, Artesan Gallery + Studio, La Trobe Art Institute, Liverpool Hope University, Metro Society, YStyle, the Embassy of Italy, and the Embassy of Spain. The Philippine STAR is a publications partner of the Ateneo Art Awards.

vuukle comment



Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with