21 cultural masters honored in Dayaw
Rosalinda L. Orosa (The Philippine Star) - December 17, 2012 - 12:00am

MANILA, Philippines - The National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) recently gave recognition to 21 cultural masters in the celebration of Dayaw 2012, the biggest gathering of indigenous cultures of the Philippines, last Nov. 29 in front of Barasoain church.

These cultural masters were gathered by the NCCA’s Subcommission on Cultural Communities and Traditional Arts (SCCTA) headed by commissioner Joycie Dorado-Alegre under the supervision of NCCA chairman Felipe de Leon, Jr. and executive director Emelita Almosara CESO IV. The recognition is the closing event of Dayaw, initiated by NCCA’s Program Monitoring and Evaluation Division headed by Adel Suemith.

Those who were awarded were Ifugao’s Michael Dexter Aliguyon, Ellenora Aliguyon and Emilia Alindayo, Rebecca Reyes of Ayta, Ampara Mabanag of Ga’dang, Panay’s Cenia Lastrilla and Aurelio Damas, Nedecio Badac of Pala’wan, Gloria Emag of Tagbanua, Ati of Negros Oriental’s Richard Impil and Marieta Mahinay, Rodrigo Panganiban of Aklan’s Ati, Delia Pauden of Antique’s Ati, Jama Mapun’s Janeth Hanapi and Kamaria Sabturani, Tirso Serdena, Francisco Eligio of Tagalog, Sangir’s Abay Tacabil and Solaw Duca, Florita Sobilos of Subanen and Datu Josefino Gonlibo of Manobo. Malolos City mayor Christian Natividad and Dayaw festival director Sonny Cristobal were also present.

The three-day festival took place in different parts of Bulacan, featuring cultural presentations, outreach activities, film showing, cooking demonstrations among others, from Nov. 27 to 29.

The NCCA has been annually celebrating the National Indigenous Peoples’ Month in different parts of the country through Dayaw. Next year, the NCCA-SCCTA is planning to hold the festival in Visayaw. The festival is in consonance with Presidential Proclamation 1906, declaring October as National Indigenous Peoples’ Month.

Winners of Sine Panitik recognized

Winners of the Sine Panitik: A Literary Film Library for Students by the Film Academy of the Philippines (FAP)) formally accepted their recognition last Dec. 3 at the NCCA lobby.

Those who were acknowledged were Jeffrey Yap for his adaptation of Kerima Polotan Tuvera’s “The Virgin” and Gregorio Brillantes’ “Faith Love and Dr. Lazaro,” Raynier Avecilla for his adaptation of “Bangkang Papel” by Genoveva Edroza-Matute, Julie Po for her adaptation of “Tata Selo” by Rogelio Sikat, Anton Pelon for his adaptation of “Utos ng Hari” by Jun Cruz Reyes, Helen Lasquite for her adaptation of “Magnificence” by Estrella Alfon, and Therese Anne Cayaba for her adaptation of “Sandaang Damit” by Fanny Garcia.

Present during the awarding were Dr. Mike Rapatan, head of NCCA - National Committee on Cinema (NCC), with Ed Lejano, Jag Garcia, Bambi Beltran and Dax Cañedo of NCC. Leo Martinez, Director General of FAP, and judge of Sine Panitik director Jose Carreon along with NCC and FAP members Robert Arevallo, Jess Navarro and Rez Cortez, Marlene Sanchez, deputy executive director of the NCCA, Rene Napeñas and Mylene Uriza from the NCCA also attended the ceremony. This year’s Sine Panitik was judged by film director Carreon and writers Jun Cruz Reyes and Pete Lacaba.

Sine Panitik showcases published literary works by Filipino authors. Finished films will be shown in scheduled exhibitions in theaters in Metro Manila and other key cities in selected provinces, as well as produced in DVD format. The seven winning screenplays will be incorporated to make three feature films.

Sine Panitik is held in collaboration with the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) and in coordination with the Department of Education (DepEd).

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with