Metro Manila, 38 other areas under loosest Alert Level 1 from March 1

Metro Manila, 38 other areas under loosest Alert Level 1 from March 1
Parents accompany their kids for the vaccination Filipinos aged 5 to 11 years at an SM mall in Sta. Rasa, Laguna on Monday, Feb. 14, 2022.
The STAR / Geremy Pintolo

MANILA, Philippines — Metro Manila and 38 other areas are set to be placed under the "new normal" Alert Level 1 upon the approval of the Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Diseases on Sunday. 

The designation is effective starting March 1 until March 15, acting presidential spokesperson Karlo Nograles confirmed to reporters. 

Under Alert Level 1, all establishments may operate and all activities may be done at full on-site and venue capacity. However, business owners and event organizers must ensure health measures like proper ventilation, wearing of face masks and handwashing are followed.

The other areas to be placed under the most lenient classification in the Alert Level system are:


Cordillera Administrative Region

  • Abra
  • Apayao
  • Baguio City
  • Kalinga

Ilocos Region

  • Dagupan City
  • Ilocos Norte
  • Ilocos Sur
  • La Union
  • Pangasinan

Cagayan Valley

  • Batanes
  • Cagayan
  • City of Santiago
  • Isabela
  • Quirino

Central Luzon

  • Angeles City
  • Aurora
  • Bataan
  • Bulacan
  • Olongapo City
  • Pampanga
  • Tarlac


  • Cavite
  • Laguna


  • Marinduque
  • Puerto Princesa
  • Romblon

 Bicol Region

  • Naga City
  • Catanduanes


Western Visayas

  • Aklan
  • Bacolod City
  • Capiz
  • Guimaras

Central Visayas

  • Siquijor

Eastern Visayas

  • Biliran


Zamboanga Peninsula

  • Zamboanga City

Northern Mindanao

  • Cagayan de Oro City
  • Camiguin 


  • Davao City

The IATF also placed these areas under Alert Level 2

  • Cordillera Administrative Region: Benguet, Ifugao and Mountain Province;
  • Region II: Nueva Vizcaya;
  • Region III: Nueva Ecija and Zambales
  • Region IV-A: Batangas, Lucena City, Quezon Province and Rizal;
  • Region IV-B: Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro and Palawan;
  • Region V: Albay, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Masbate and Sorsogon 
  • Region VI: Antique, Iloilo City, Iloilo Province and Negros Occidental;
  • Region VII: Bohol, Cebu Province, Cebu City, Lapu-Lapu City, Mandaue City and Negros Oriental
  • Region VIII: Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar, Ormoc City, Southern Leyte, Tacloban City and Western Samar;
  • Region IX: City of Isabela, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga Sibugay
  • Region X: Bukidnon, Iligan City, Lanao del Norte, Misamis Occidental and Misamis Oriental;
  • Region XI: Davao De Oro, Davao Del Sur, Davao Del Norte, Davao Oriental and Davao Occidental
  • Region XII: General Santos City, North Cotabato, Sarangani, South Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat;
  • Region XIII: Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Butuan City, Dinagat Islands
  • BARMM: Basilan, Maguindanao, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, Cotabato City Lanao Del Sur

Earlier Sunday, the Department of Health recorded 1,038 new coronavirus cases with a positivity rate of 5.0% out of 25,313 tests. 

Franco Luna with reports from The STAR/Alexis Romero 

vuukle comment



  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with