Duterte swears in 42 new execs

Giovanni Nilles - The Philippine Star

MANILA, Philippines - Forty-two new government officials were sworn in by President Duterte at Malacañang yesterday.

The new officials include Jose Jorge Corpus, Alexander Balutan and Loreto Ata as Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office board chairman, general manager and board member, respectively; 

J. Prospero De Vera III, commissioner, Commission on Higher Education; and Thomas Orbos and Julia Catherine Nebrija as Metropolitan Manila Development Authority general manager and assistant general manager, respectively.

Named under the Office of the President were Datu Abul Khayr Alonto, chairperson for the Mindanao Development Authority; Adelino Sitoy, presidential adviser on legislative affairs; Roland Bondoc, assistant executive secretary for finance and administration; and Jennifer Joy Ong and Erwin Enad, assistant secretaries.

Also named assistant secretaries were Cherie Lei Santos and Lino Dabi for the Department of Transportation; Kelvin Lester Lee for the Office of the Executive Secretary; Teresita Vistro, Elmer Distor and Milagros Isabel Cristobal for the Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR) and Michelle Angelica Go for the Department of Environment and Natural Resources.

Also named as assistant secretaries were Kissinger Reyes, Rachel Queenie Rodulfo, Joseph Lawrence Garcia, Ana Maria Paz Banaag and Michel Kristian Ablan for the Presidential Communications Operations Office (PCOO), and Rolando Asuncion and Ma. Cecilia Papa for the Office of the Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process (OPAPP).

Duterte also swore in Amable Aguiluz V as a special envoy of the President to the Gulf Cooperation Council and Vicente Malano as administrator of the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration.

Named undersecretaries were Gertrudo de Leon and Agnes Joyce Bailen for the Department of Budget and Management; Marcos Risonar Jr., Sylvia Mallari, Luis Meinrado Pangulayan and David Erro for DAR; Antonio Kho Jr. for the Department of Justice; Virginia Orogo for the Department of Social Welfare and Development; George Apacible, Noel George Puyat and Enrique Tandan for the PCOO; Nabil Tan, Diosita Andot and Ronald Flores for the OPAPP, and Ariel Cayanan for the Department of Agriculture.


  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with