Ben&Ben tops Awit nominations

SOUNDS FAMILIAR - Baby A. Gil - The Philippine Star
Ben&Ben tops Awit nominations
Ben&Ben receives 10 nods from Awit Awards 2021
STAR / File

The Awit Awards 2021 nominees are out and Ben&Ben tops them all with 10 nods, the most from over 900 entries. The band missed out on the Album of the Year category but pretty much conquered others with their singles, Doors, Di ka Sayang and Sa Susunod na Habang Buhay. Consistent nominee and winner Moira dela Torre got eight, and so did the female duo of Leanne and Naara.

There is no news yet if the awards rites on Nov. 29 will be held live. But it is a sure thing that the Awit Awards will happen and we can tune in online to YouTube or Facebook to find out who will bring home the trophies.

Here is the list:

Performance by a Female Recording Artist: Regine Velasquez-Alcasid, Mahal Ko O Mahal Ako; Moira dela Torre, Paubaya; Keiko Necesario, Right Next to You; Miss Ramonne, Agsardeng; Shaina Opsimar, Lunod.

Performance by a Male Recording Artist: Sam Mangubat, Kulang ang Mundo; TJ Monterde, Puhon; Zack Tabudlo, Nangangamba; Noel Cabangon, Pipiliin Pang Maghintay; Quest, Tuloy Tuloy.

Collaboration: Moira dela Torre and Agsunta, Kahit Kunwari Man Lang; TJ Monterde and KZ Tandingan, Simula; Juan Karlos and Gloc-9, Sampaguita; Christian Bautista and Janine Teñoso, Bukas Wala Nang Ulan; Jr. Crown and Kevin Yadao, Bestiny.

Performance by a New Female Recording Artist: Trisha Denise, Liliwanag; Fana, Out; Daze, 1996; TJane Plaza, Somebody; TJane Plaza, Sana’y Tayo Pa; Jenn Clemena, A.A.

Performance by a New Male Recording Artist: Matty Juniosa, Sayaw ng mga Tala; Bryant Dagdag, Di Na Bale; Benedict Cua, Di Namalayan; Rob Daniel, Ulap; James Gulles, Hunungdan.

Performance by a Group: Ben&Ben, Doors; Ben&Ben, Di Ka Sayang; SB19, Hanggang Sa Huli; SUD, Dumaloy; IV of Spades, Sariling Multo Sa Panaginip.

Performance by a New Group: Nameless Kids, Outlaws; Kiss N Tell, Pahina; Rhythm and Drip, Pero; JThree, Love Kita, Maniwala Ka; Reon, Suyo.

New Artist in a Collaboration: J-Nine (with King Promdi), GG; JM Bales ft. KVN, Magandang Dilag; Vince Lucero, Mistah Lefty, Random Thoughts.

Album of the Year: Unique Salonga, Pangalan; The Itchyworms, Waiting for the End to Start; Juan Karlos, Diwa; Leanne and Naara, Daybreak; Zild, Homework Machine.

Song of the Year: Moira dela Torre and Jason Marvin, Paubaya; Danielle Balagtas, Marupok; Paolo Benjamin and Miguel Benjamin, Lifetime; Paolo Benjamin and Miguel Benjamin, Di Ka Sayang; Leanne and Naara, Who’s Gonna Love You; Zildjian Benitez, Dila.

Record of the Year: KZ Tandingan, Marupok; Moira dela Torre, Paubaya; Rico Blanco, This Too Shall Pass; Ben&Ben, Di Ka Sayang; Zack Tabudlo, Nangangamba; Leanne and Naara, Who’s Gonna Love You; Zild, Dila.

Ballad Recording: Moira dela Torre, Paubaya; TJ Monterde and KZ Tandingan, Simula; Ben& Ben, Sa Susunod na Habang Buhay; Clara Benin, Araw’t Gabi; Noel Cabangon, Pipiliin Pang Maghintay.

Pop Recording: KYRYLL, Gunita; Earl Generao, Sumayaw (Sa Kanya Kanyang Kwarto); Rico Blanco, Happy Feelin’; Autotelic, Bago; Zack Tabudlo, Nangangamba.

Rock/Alternative Recording: Silent Sanctuary, Himala; The Itchyworms, Armageddon Blues; The Knobs, Paalam; SUD, Dumaloy; IV of Spades, Sariling Multo (Sa Panaginip).

Christmas Recording: Arman Ferrer, Paskong Walang Hanggan; Drei Rana and Selena Marie, Paano ang Simbang Gabi; Elha Nympha, Share the Love; Martin Nievera, A Brand New Christmas; Katrina Velarde, Daryl Ong, Dea Formilleza and Yuki Ito, ‘Tis the Season.

Rap/Hip-Hop Recording: Arvey, Umaga; Juss Rye, Subtle Energy; Alex Bruce, Yakap; Zelijah and KNTMNL, 88; Nobrvnd, Sinayang.

Jazz Recording: Extrapolation, Villain; Issa Rodriguez, ‘Wag; Basically Saturday Night, Lightning Strikes; Leanne and Naara, Choose You; Nicole Asensio, Poblacion.

R&B Recording: Juna Conscious & the Goodness, Previously On; August Wahh, Elated; KYRYLL, Gunita; Jason Dhakal, gOOdn1ght; Leanne and Naara, Too Soon.

Song Written for Movie/TV/Stage: Maligaya ang Buhay from Four Sisters Before the Wedding; Malaya Ako from Hush; Hanggang sa Huli from 24/7; Ang Sa Iyo ay Akin from Ang Sa Iyo ay Akin; Ngayon from OST Gameboys.

Musical Arrangement: Moophs, Always; The Itchyworms, Waiting for the End to Start; Zild Benitez, Habulan; Brian Lotho, Who’s Gonna Love You; Brian Lotho, Never Made It Far.

Vocal Arrangement: Marupok, Jonathan Manalo; Andre Magalit Castillo, Someone to Watch Over Me; of Mercury, Fake Love; Darren Espanto, Lloyd Oliver Corpuz, Raizo Chabeldin, Believe in Christmas; Happy Laderas and Almond Bolante, Tala.

Cover Art: Hibang; Bago; Purple Afternoon; Rico Blanco Songbook; Don’t Look Back.

Best Music Video: No Rush; Naubos Na; Hanggang sa Huli; Dila; Poblacion.

For the rest of the Awit categories and nominees, please check out the Awit website.

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with