Moira is Pinoy bet for EMA’s Best Southeast Asian Act
SOUNDS FAMILIAR - Baby A. Gil (The Philippine Star) - October 14, 2019 - 12:00am

Moira dela Torre of the soft and smoky tones and of the hit songs Malaya, Tagpuan, Titibo-tibo and Kung Di Rin Lang Ikaw is the Philippines’ bet for Best Southeast Asian Act at the MTV European Music Awards (EMA) 2019, which will be held at the FIBES Conference and Exhibition Center in Seville, Andalusia, Spain on Nov. 3 and which will be aired over MTV. 

A counterpart of the American MTV Video Music Awards, the EMAs started giving out awards in other countries to honor artists and music in pop culture in 1994. The awards reflect the international and continental music scene and are representative of geographical origin and of achievement in diverse musical genres and disciplines. This is why there are the usual nominees like Best Song and Best Artist, plus also regional nominees.  Viewers and fans are able to vote for their favorite artists in all general categories through the MTV website.

The EMAs started giving out the Best Southeast Asian Act category in 2013 to honor achievers in countries like Vietnam, Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia and the Philippines. The previous winners were:  My Tam of Vietnam; Sarah Geronimo of the Philippines; Son Tung M-TP of Vietnam; Dong Nhi of Vietnam; James Reid of the Philippines; and Joe Flizzow of Singapore.Moira is up against formidable competitors like singer and actress Jannine Weigel of Thailand; electronic singer, songwriter and producer Jasmine Sokko of Singapore; hip-hop star Rich Brian of Indonesia; rapper and singer Suboi of Vietnam; and singer and songwriter Yuna of Malaysia.

Here now are the nominees in the general categories of the 2019 European Music Awards:

•Best Song: Ariana Grande, 7 Rings; Billie Eilish, bad guy; Lil Nas X ft. Billy Ray Cyrus, Old Town Road (Remix); Becky G and Natti Natasha, Banana; Shawn Mendes and Camila Cabello, Señorita.

•Best Video: Ariana Grande, thank u, next; Billie Eilish, bad guy; Lil Nas X ft. Billy Ray Cyrus, Old Town Road (Remix); Rosalia and J. Balvin ft. El Guincho, Con altura; Taylor Swift ft. Brandon Urie of Panic! at the Disco, ME!.

•Best Artist: Ariana Grande; J Balvin; Miley Cyrus; Shawn Mendes; Taylor Swift.

•Best New Artist: Ava Max; Billie Eilish; Lewis Capaldi; Lil Nas X; Lizzo; Mabel.

•Best Collaboration: BTS and Halsey, Boy with Luv; Lil Nas X ft. Billy Ray Cyrus, Old Town Road (Remix); Mark Ronson ft. Miley Cyrus, Nothing Breaks Like A Heart; Rosalia and J Balvin ft. El Guincho, Con altura; The Chainsmokers and Bebe Rexha, Call You Mine.

•Best Pop: Ariana Grande; Becky G; Camila Cabello; Halsey; Jonas Brothers; Shawn Mendes.

•Best Hip-Hop: 21 Savage; Cardi B; J.Cole; Nicki Minaj; Travis Scott.

•Best Rock: Green Day; Imagine Dragons; Liam Gallagher; Panic! at the Disco; The 1975.

•Best Alternative: FKA Twigs; Lana del Rey; Solange; twenty one pilots; Vampire Weekend.

•Best Electronic: Calvin Harris; DJ Snake; Marshmello; Martin Garrix; The Chainsmokers.

•Best Live: Ariana Grande; Nicki Minaj; Ed Sheeran; Cardi B; Travis Scott.

•Best Push: Ava Max; Billie Eilish; CNCO; H.E.R.; Jade Bird; Juice Wrld; Kiana Lede; Lauv; Lewis Capaldi; Lizzo; Mabel; Rosalia.

•Best World Stage: Bebe Rexha (Isle of MTV Malta 2019); Hailee Steinfeld (Isle of MTV Malta 2018); Muse (Bilbao, Spain); The 1975 (Lollapalooza Paris 2019); twentyone pilots (Lollapalooza Paris 2019).

•Best Look: Halsey; Nicki Minaj; Lil Nas X; Lizzo; Rosalia.

•Biggest Fans: Ariana Grande; Billie Eilish; BTS; Shawn Mendes; Taylor Swift.

And now here are some of the regional nominees:

•Best Greater China Act: Click#15 (China); Fiona Sit (Hong Kong); Zhou Shen (China); Shin (Taiwan); Timmy Xu (China); Feng Timo (China).

•Best Indian Act: Emiway Bantai; Komorebi; Parikrama; Prateek Kuhad; Raja Kumari.

•Best Japanese Act: King Gnu; Nulbarich; Chai; Tampalay; Chanmina.

•Best Korean Act: AB6IX; Ateez; CIX; Itzy; Iz One.

•Best US Act: Billie Eilish; Lil Nas X; Ariana Grande; Taylor Swift; Lizzo.

•Best Canadian Act: Shawn Mendes; Avril Lavigne; Carly Rae Jepsen; Johnny Orlando; Alessia Cara.

•Best UK & Ireland Act: Lewis Capaldi; Dave; Mabel; Ed Sheeran; Little Mix.

Do check out the other nominees in the MTV EMA website.

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with