(Left)MYX Music Awards big winner James Reid. (Right)Sarah Geronimo, Female Artist of the Year
James, Sarah, KZ lead winners at MYX Music Awards 2018
KAPAMILYA DAY - Kane Errol Choa (The Philippine Star) - May 19, 2018 - 12:00am

Heartthrob James Reid emerged as the big winner at the MYX Music Awards 2018 as he won five awards out of his five nominations.

James was named Artist of the Year and Male Artist of the Year. His song Cool Down was adjudged Song of the Year. He also won Music Video of the Year and Music Video Appearance of the Year for The Life, which was co-starred and co-directed by Nadine Lustre.

Powerhouse singers Sarah Geronimo and KZ Tandingan took home two awards each. Sarah won Female Artist of the Year and Collaboration of the Year for Kaibigan Mo, featuring Yeng Constantino. KZ won Media Soundtrack of the Year for Two Less Lonely People in the World and Urban Video of the Year for Labo, directed by Kean Cipriano.

Breakout band IV of Spades received both MYX Bandarito Performance of the Year and New Artist of the Year.

The Big Dome was filled with young fans and rising artists, but one icon shone the brightest — an award-winning performer who has been in the music scene for almost four decades.

The prestigious MYX Magna Award was presented to world-class performer Martin Nievera for his tremendous contribution in the local music scene. A tribute performance was held onstage by Angeline Quinto, Christian Bautista, Erik Santos, Jake Zyrus, Jed Madela, Karylle, Kyla, KZ Tandingan, Morissette, Robin Nievera and Yael Yuzon as Martin heartwarmingly received the award.

“Winner or loser, receive or not receive an award — if your music can change the life of the people you compose for or sing for, that’s the kind of music that should win awards. It’s a great honor to be in the midst of all these people from different worlds of music in this day and age,” said Martin in his acceptance speech.

Urban Video of the Year winner KZ Tandingan with director Kean Cipriano

Other artists who bagged awards include Moira dela Torre (Mellow Video of the Year — Malaya directed by John Prats), Darren Espanto (Remake of the Year — I’ll Be There with Jed Madela), BoybandPH (Group of the Year), Brisom (Rock Video of the Year — Balewala directed by Kevin Dayrit), Super Junior (International Video of the Year — Black Suit), and Edward Barber (MYX Celebrity VJ of the Year).

Among those who performed were British teen sensation HRVY, IV of Spades, Shanti Dope, Gloc-9, Yeng, Julie Anne San Jose, Darren, Ylona Garcia, Elmo Magalona, Janella Salvador, Kiana Valenciano, John Roa, TJ Monterde, Klarisse, Marlisa, Jona, Jay R, REQ and Midnasty.

The star-studded event also served as a reunion of MYX icons as past VJs Bianca Roque, Chino Lui Pio, Heart Evangelista, Iya Villania, Luis Manzano and Nikki Gil also graced the stage as presenters.

The awards night kicked off with the first-ever MYX Squadfest, a concert that showcased performances by some of the hottest young artists such as BoybandPH, Claudia Barretto, Edward Barber, Ex-Battalion, Hashtags, Janina Vela, Jayda, Kisses Delavin, Maymay Entrata, Tony Labrusca, AC Bonifacio, Kyle Echarri, Jeremy Glinoga, Isabela Vinzon, Tala, Fern and Volts Vallejo.

The much-awaited musical gathering also gained online buzz. The event, with the hashtag #MYXMusicAwards2018, trended at No.1 on Twitter Philippines. It included an exciting innovation with the customized MYX Twitter emoji.

MYX also partnered with leading music streaming site Spotify for the first ever Spotify-made playlist for the nominees and winners.

The 12th MYX Music Awards was hosted by MYX VJs Ai dela Cruz, Donny Pangilinan, Iñigo Pascual, Robi Domingo, Sharlene San Pedro and Sunny Kim. Fans may watch it on MYX (SKYcable Channel 23) tonight at 6.

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with