The Make Your Nanay Proud (MYNP) Foundation Incorporated is proud to announce the winners for the 2016 Sine Nanay Short Film Festival.
2nd Sine Nanay Short Film Festival winners
ARANGKADA - Boy Abunda (The Philippine Star) - January 14, 2017 - 12:00am

The Make Your Nanay Proud (MYNP) Foundation Incorporated is proud to announce the winners for the 2016 Sine Nanay Short Film Festival. Now on its second year, the Sine Nanay Short Film Festival was led by TV, movie and theater actor Arnold Reyes as festival director. The festival aims to develop and discover the creative talents of students from different schools, colleges and universities in the metro, while staying true to its mission and vision of making our nanay proud by being the best of what we can be.

MYNP crossed borders by opening the festival theme to everyone for as long as it highlights mothers. The foundation believes that motherhood should not be limited to traditional biological mothers — they can be LGBT mothers, spiritual mothers, adoptive mothers who play a maternal role in the lives of their children.

This year’s ?response to the call for entries was overwhelming. MYNP received a record-breaking 120 entries in its initial call. A panel of experts conducted roundtable discussions and deliberations, a very tedious process, to come up with a short list of 27 entries. From there, further deliberations were conducted and a final list of 10 films was chosen.

?The winners for the second Sine Nanay Short Film Festival are the following:

•Best Ensemble Performance: Life in Videos (Angelicum College)

•Best Cinematography: Uyayi, De La Salle-College of St. Benilde

•Best Sound: Uyayi, De La Salle-College of St. Benilde

•Best Production Design: Uyayi, De La Salle-College of St. Benilde

•Best Supporting Actor: Miguel Medenilla (Paskil ni Inay, Polytechnic University of the Philippines)

•Best Supporting Actress: No winner

•Best Screenplay: Dawn Capales (Life in Videos)

•Best Actor: Jeremie Raizen (Silent Hope, De La Salle-College of St. Benilde)

•Best Actress: Christine Calawod (Tatay na si Nanay, University of the Philippines Diliman)

•Best Director: Alda Dalisay (Uyayi)

•Best Film: Life in Videos, Angelicum College

?The final board of judges was composed of respected film and movie personalities and mentors in the industry which included direk Hannah Espia, Moira Lang, Ronald Arguelles, Mac Alejandre, Sid Lucero, Angeli Bayani, direk Mikhail Red and Tara Illenberger.

Angeli, jury member, had this to say about the Best Film Life in Videos: ?“This film is my No. 1 choice, for the sheer sincerity of the filmmaker. The filmic language is simple and clear, the shots capture the relationship between the mother and her children and grandchildren. The story, simply told, is beautiful because even as the mother suffers from progressive mental deterioration, her heart remembers. And as shown in the film, her children will not tire of taking care of her and reminding her who and what she is to them. The filmmaker shows that a mother’s love goes beyond infirmity, disease or disability.”

Bemz Benedito, managing director of MYNP and festival secretariat head, was very happy with the huge turn-out and the variety of talents and materials submitted this year.

“It only goes to show that MYNP is making a difference and indeed, inculcating the value of love for our mothers through our activities, especially the Sine Nanay Film Festival. While it might just be in its infancy, considering it is only our second year, we are hopeful that this will grow bigger year after year. The imagination and talent of Filipino students are simply boundless. Maternal love is the cornerstone value that the Filipinos should never ever forget. We hope we can continue to improve Sine Nanay Festival in the years to come.”

?The second Sine Nanay awards ceremony was held last Dec. 16 at the Philippine Women’s University Concert Hall. ?It was made possible by the generosity and support of festival patron and MYNP Council of Advisers member Tony Tuviera. Other sponsors were Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office; SEAOIL Foundation, Inc.; Mother Lily Monteverde; Rica dela Merced; AdGarlic; Great Image; Dannon Clothing; The Philippine STAR; Intermatrix Katipunan; FLM Creatives and Productions; BDO T. Morato-Kamuning; and Offices of Sen. Sherwin Gatchalian, Sen. Francis Pangilinan, Sen. Cynthia Villar and Sen. Loren Legarda.

?For details, visit and FB fanpage or e-mail at

— With reports from Almed Garcia and Julian Mauricio

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with