Best in UAAP, 'NC' feted tonite

Updated Thursday December 04, 2014 - 12:00am

MANILA, Philippines - The UAAP-NCAA Press Corps and Smart fete the top performers in college basketball tonight in the 2014 Collegiate Basketball Awards at the Saisaki-Kamayan EDSA.

The event, organized by the college basketball scribes to honor the best and the brightest in the recently concluded UAAP and NCAA season, will start at 7 p.m. with UST courtside reporter Kristelle Batchelor as host.

The UAAP-NCAA Press Corps will also pick out among the awardees the Smart Player of the Year, the citation given to the player who showed the best qualities on and off the court, during the recognition dinner supported by Smart Sports, Accel 3XVI and Kohl Industries (Doctor J alcohol, Bactigel hand sanitizer, and Mighty Mom dishwashing liquid).

Heading the list of awardees are Eric Altamirano of National University and Boyet Fernandez of San Beda, recipients of the Coach of the Year award for steering their teams to the championship in their respective leagues.

Kiefer Ravena of Ateneo and Earl Scottie Thompson of University of Perpetual Help, the Most Valuable Player winners in the UAAP and the NCAA, respectively, will also be cited as part of the Collegiate Mythical Team.

Joining Ravena and Thompson in the squad are Ola Adeogun of San Beda, Mac Belo of Far Eastern University, and Jeron Teng of De La Salle.

Anthony Semerad of San Beda and Alfred Aroga of NU will also be honored as Pivotal Players for their outstanding performances in the finals, with Glenn Khobuntin of NU, Kyle Pascual of San Beda, and Almond Vosotros of De La Salle winning the Super Senior award.

Receiving the special awards are Troy Rosario of NU (Doctor J Breakthrough Player), Jiovani Jalalon of Arellano and Gelo Alolino of NU (Impact Players), and Baser Amer of San Beda (Court General).

Other Related Articles

comments powered by Disqus
UAAP Season 77 kicks off at Smart Araneta
ADMU Blue Eagles 11 3
FEU Tamaraws 11 4
DLSU Green Archers 10 5
NU Bulldogs 10 5
UE Red Warriors 9 6
UST Growling Tigers 5 9
UP Maroons 1 13
AdU Falcons 1 13


Wednesday, Oct. 15, 2014 @ Smart Araneta Coliseum
3:00 PM - Men's Finals Game 2