From anonymity to stardom: Thompson wins NCAA MVP plum
By Joey Villar Updated Monday October 20, 2014 - 5:21pm

Perpetual's Earl Scottie Thompson with his trophies at the media room of the Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City after Monday's awarding ceremonies of the 90th NCAA men's basketball tournament.

MANILA, Philippines - Earl Scottie Thompson went to Manila in 2010 from Digos, Davao del Sur without getting scholarship offers from any top collegiate schools except for Perpetual Help. Six years later, he's one of the best collegiate players in the land.

Thompson, 21, received on Monday the Most Valuable Player trophy in the 90th NCAA basketball tournament in simple awards rites at the MOA Arena in Pasay City after coming through with the most complete performance of the season.

So complete, in fact, that Thompson posted a pair of triple-double efforts this year and placed in the top 10 in almost every statistical department possible in powering the Altas to a third straight Final Four stint.

In all, Thompson averaged 17.07 points (fourth-best), 11.36 rebounds (fifth), 5.50 assists (tied for second), 1.64 steals (seventh) and almost a block a game to make up for a second worst 4.07 turnovers a game.

"Only Perpetual Help recruited me," said Thompson in Filipino. "But I didn't let it stop me and just work hard every day to improve."

Thompson said he's next goal is to help the Las Pinas-based school win their first ever championship next year.

And he will have a lot of help in Nigerians Akhueti Bright and Eze Prince.

"They're good and very strong players, I'm looking forward for another memorable season," said Thompson, who became the first Perpetual Help player to bag the award since Jose Manalo won it 14 seasons ago.

The only other Perpetual Help player to win such award was Eric Clement Quiday in 1989.

Aside from being part of the Mythical Five alongside teammate Harold Arboleda, San Beda's Ola Adeogun, San Sebastian's Bradwyn Guinto and Arellano University's Jiovani Jalalon, Thompson also made it to the All-Defensive squad composed of Gabayni, Adeogun, Guinto and Jose Rizal's Abdul Razak Abdul Wahab.

Other awardees were Arellano U's Dioncee Holts (Rookie of the Year), Jalalon (Most Improved), Gabayni (Defensive Player) and Jose Rizal (Sportsmanship).

Darius Estrella emerged the juniors MVP to become the first Jose Rizal cager to have won the honor since Keith Agovida and Louie Vigil won it in back-to-back seasons in 2008 and 2009.

Raphael Chavez of Perpetual Help is juniors Rookie of the Year.

Views expressed in this section are those of the readers and do not necessarily reflect the editorial position of or any of its sister publications. does not knowingly publish false information and may not be held liable for the views of readers exercising their right to free expression.
comments powered by Disqus
AU Chiefs 13 4
SBC Red Lions 13 5
UPHSD Altas 12 6
JRU Heavy Bombers 12 6
CSB Blazers 11 6
CSJL Knights 8 9
LPU Pirates 6 11
SSC Stags 5 13
MIT Cardinals 4 14
EAC Generals 4 14


Wednesday, October 8, 2014 @ San Juan Arena
12:00 PM - Game 1 - Jrs/Srs
4:00 PM - Game 2 - Srs/Jrs