Final 4 teams chase history
By Joey Villar Updated Monday October 13, 2014 - 12:00am

MANILA, Philippines - This year's Final Four teams boast of varying styles but chase one goal - history.

San Beda is trying to become the first team in recent years to make it to the NCAA finals nine straight times against a Perpetual Help team eyeing its first ever championship.

Arellano University is also gunning for its first-ever finals stint and hopefully a first crown since it joined the 90-year-old league five years ago while Final Four rival Jose Rizal is seeking its first championship in over four decades.

But the Red Lions and the Chiefs have the inside track to the finals with twice-to-beat advantages after clinching the top two spots after the double-round elims.

San Beda underscored its readiness for another crack at the championship by handing Arellano its worst beating via a 97-69 rout in their playoff for the top seeding last Friday.

"San Beda has this tradition of making the finals the last eight years and we don't want to break that," said San Beda's Boyet Fernandez, whose Lions will be up against the No. 4 Altas in Wednesday's Final Four at the MOA Arena in Pasay City.

"San Beda is a tough team to beat but we've beaten them once this season so nothing is impossible," said Perpetual Help coach Aric del Rosario, confident of giving the Las Piñas-based squad its breakthrough championship despite losing to the same team in the Final Four the last two seasons.

Views expressed in this section are those of the readers and do not necessarily reflect the editorial position of or any of its sister publications. does not knowingly publish false information and may not be held liable for the views of readers exercising their right to free expression.
comments powered by Disqus
AU Chiefs 13 4
SBC Red Lions 13 5
UPHSD Altas 12 6
JRU Heavy Bombers 12 6
CSB Blazers 11 6
CSJL Knights 8 9
LPU Pirates 6 11
SSC Stags 5 13
MIT Cardinals 4 14
EAC Generals 4 14


Wednesday, October 8, 2014 @ San Juan Arena
12:00 PM - Game 1 - Jrs/Srs
4:00 PM - Game 2 - Srs/Jrs