Sports Skinning Left, pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1
Sportshub ( Leaderboard Top ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1

Hong tops Samsung Amateur by three

MANILA, Philippines - Charles Hong pounced on the misfortunes of Aristeo Mata and Park Jung-soo on the closing holes to pull off a three-stroke victory in the championship division of the recent Samsung Amateur Golf Open Eastridge Golf Club course in Binangonan, Rizal.

Hong finished birdie-par-par for a four-over-par 76 in the difficult conditions and escaped with the win when Mata bogeyed the last two holes and first round co-leader Park took a horrific double-par 6 on the par-3 16th.

Hong’s 149 total after a 73 on Tuesday was three better than the 152 of Mata, who also had a 76 playing in the flight behind the final foursome. Park, scoring an 81-154, wound up fourth behind third finisher Ariel Villasensio who matched the 152 of Mata but lost in the countback.

Former jungolfer Matet Salivio was impressive in posting a six-stroke victory in ladies Class A. She carded a tournament-best 72 for 146, up by six over Inez del Rosario.

Boy Castro’s Class D win, meanwhile, was just as exciting. Castro edged past Randy Cabangon with a two-shot swing on the last hole as he carded a 97-189 against the 102-190. Carlos Packing (87-174) won Class C by four over Joel Ignacio (84-178).

Roger Telan provided an interesting sidelight to the tourney also supported by Glucos Care, A Round of Golf, Inquirer Golf, Omnisource International, International Armouring Corp. and BCLN Golf. Minor sponsors are Dynamic Sports and Leisure, Titleist, Custom Clubmakers, ABW Leaves of Life, CranUTI and Gargol.

Sportshub ( Article MRec ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1

Telan was being called for a playoff against eventual Class B champion Ben Liclican when the former voluntarily disqualified himself for a wrong entry in his first day scorecard. He had signed for an 81 instead of 82.

“Roger’s honesty is welcome relief for us golfers at a time when cheating issues are plaguing the local golf scene,” said event organizer Boy Blue Ocampo.

The other winners in the ladies category were Jonah Ilagan in Class B and Sheryll Crystal in Class C

Sportshub ( Article MRec ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1
  • Follow Us:
Sports Skinning Right, pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1