Homepage ( Leaderboard Top ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch:

7 TOYM awardees honored

The Outstanding Young Men awardee Allan ‘apl.de.ap’ Pineda of US pop music band The Black Eyed Peas performs during the awarding ceremony at Malacañang yesterday. Other awardees are (from left) the Azkals’ Emelio ‘Chieffy’ Caligdong, Abelardo David, Warren Baticados, Ivan Anthony Henares, Rodrigo ‘Jiggy’ Manicad Jr. and Rep. Emmeline Aglipay.

MANILA, Philippines - President Aquino honored yesterday seven individuals who were chosen as The Outstanding Young Men (TOYM) of 2012 and challenged them to do more for the country despite their achievements.

The awardees are Democratic Independent Workers’ Association party-list Rep. Emmeline Aglipay for public service; Warren Baticados for veterinary medicine; the Azkals’ Emelio “Chieffy” Caligdong for sports; Abelardo David for community occupational rehabilitation; Ivan Anthony Henares for heritage conservation; Rodrigo “Jiggy” Manicad Jr. for broadcast journalism; and international singer Allan “apl.de.ap” Pineda for contemporary music.

Apl. de. ap performed during the event as the other awardees served as his back-up dancers.

The President paid tribute to each of the awardees in his speech during the awarding rites in Malacañang.

“To our awardees: The best of your work is still to come. You are going to be a vital part of our nation’s future,” he said.

“What I have learned as President is that no single person, no single entity, or corporation, or government can manage the full-scale turnaround of this country on their own. We need each Filipino to do their part. This country needs you to continue being creative, excellent, and relevant,” Aquino told the awardees.

Homepage ( Article MRec ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1

The TOYM awardees were chosen by the Board of  Judges chaired by Supreme Court Justice Arturo Brion along with Bank of the Philippine Islands president and CEO Aurelio Montinola III, Bro. Ricardo Laguda of the De La Salle University, PBA Commissioner Chito Salud, Miguel Belmonte, president and CEO of The STAR, Raul Sunico of the Cultural Center of the Philippines and Agnes Mejia, dean of the UP College of Medicine.

TOYM is among the country’s most prestigious awards for young men and women aged 18 to 40 whose selfless dedication to their profession has resulted in significant contributions to the welfare of their countrymen as well as to the advancement of their fields of endeavor.

Aquino’s father, the late senator Benigno Jr., the late local government secretary Jesse Robredo and health secretary Enrique Ona were among the recipients of the award.

Homepage ( Article MRec ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1
  • Follow Us: