Nation Skinning Left, pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1
Nation ( Leaderboard Top ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1

Nationwide quake drill held today

Police officers carry a mock victim during an earthquake drill at the Quezon City Police District headquarters at Camp Karingal during the 1st nationwide simultaneous earthquake drill.
Miguel de Guzman, File

MANILA, Philippines — The National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council led on Wednesday the third quarter nationwide simultaneous earthquake drill.

The NDRRMC designated Strike Gymnasium at Bacoor City, Cavite as its ceremonial area. In a statement, the council said: “Officials, actors, responders and guests at the ceremonial venue performed the duck, cover and hold as an initial reaction from a magnitude 7.2 earthquake generated by the West Valley Fault.”



Nation ( Article MRec ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1

The Council said that four local government units in Cavite portrayed 18 scenarios to test and show the response capacity of the province.

“Some of the scenarios were Emergency Medical Response (EMR), Search Rescue and Retrieval (SRR), Management of the Dead and Missing (MDM), chemical decontamination, fire suppression, and camp coordination and management,” the NDRRMC added.

An emergency operations center and an incident command post were also set up as part of the drill. The council also conducted rapid damage assessment and need analysis.

The NDRRMC said the drill also sought to test “the inter-operability of DRMMC councils from the national down to the municipal level.



The list of the pilot areas for the 3rd Quarter Nationwide Simultaneous Earthquake Drill follows:

  • Region I: Brgy. Uyong, Labrador Pangasinan
  • Region II: St. Paul University, Tuguegarao City, Pangasinan
  • Region III: Subic Bay, Freeport Zone
  • CALABARZON: Strike Gymnasium, Bacoor, Cavite
  • MIMAROPA: Puerto Princesa City, Palawan
  • Region V: Virac, Catanduanes
  • Region VI: Kalibo, Aklan
  • Region VII: Bangkal National High School, Lapulapu City
  • Region VIII: Barugo Municipal Hall, Leyte
  • Region IX: Pilar College, R.T. Lim Cawa-cawa, San Jose Road, Zamboanga City
  • Region X: Sacred Heart of Jesus Montessori School, Cagayan de Oro City
  • Region XI: SPED Bangkal Elementary School and Davao City National High School
  • Region XII: General Santos City SPED National High School
  • ARMM: Brgy. Upper Port Holland, Maluso, Basilan
  • NCR: Sandiganbayan, Quezon City
  • CARAGA: Municipality of Bayabas, Surigao del Sur
  • CAR: Baguio Special Education Center

Nation ( Article MRec ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1
  • Follow Us:
Nation Skinning Right, pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1