Nation ( Leaderboard Top ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1

Supreme Court orders petitioners to comment on oil depot case motions

MANILA, Philippines – Former environment secretary Lito Atienza Jr. and other petitioners seeking to transfer the Pandacan oil depot were ordered yesterday by the Supreme Court to explain why they failed to comment on various motions in the case.

The other respondents are Manila Rep. Benny Abante, and Councilors Ma. Lourdez “Bonjay” Isip-Garcia, Joy Dawis-Asuncion, and Che Borromeo.

Last year, Atienza and company asked the SC to void an ordinance signed by Manila Mayor Alfredo Lim allowing the oil depot to remain in Pandacan.

Petitioners said Lim and the Manila City Council had violated the constitutional provision protecting the right of Filipinos to have a clean, healthy and safe environment when they passed the ordinance.

Atienza named as respondents Lim and 19 councilors who voted to pass the ordinance: Arlene Koa, Jesus Fajardo, Mon Yupangco, Josie Siscar, Roderick Valbuena, Lou Veloso, Dennis Lacuna, Philip Lacuna, Ian Nieva, Moises Lim, Ernesto Dionisio Jr., Rolando Valeriano, Carlo Lopez, Ernesto Isip Jr., John Marvin “Yul Servo” Nieto, Edward Maceda, Vic Melendez, Honey Lacuna-Pangan, and Louie Chua.

When he was Manila mayor, Atienza ordered the relocation of the Pandacan oil depot.

Nation ( Article MRec ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1
  • Follow Us: