Freeman Sports ( Leaderboard Top ), pagematch: , sectionmatch: 1

Quiñones, Siso lead Class A winners in Lapu-Lapu Fiesta tennis

CEBU - Michael Quiñones and Bernardine "Niño" Siso spearheaded a slew of Cebu's decorated racquet-wielders who got off to a flying start in the elite Class A division of the 2008 Lapu-Lapu City Fiesta Lawn Tennis Tournament billed as "1st Mayor Arturo Radaza Cup" over the weekend at the city's tennis courts.

Quiñones had little trouble in thrashing Michael Cimafranca, 10-2, while Siso, one of the brightest bets of the San Carlos Seminary (SANCASE) Developmental Training Pool, was made to work extra hard before getting past the gritty Nanding Econg, 10-7.

Kennex Abadia pulled the day's biggest stunner when he booted out the promising Jacob Lagman, 10-7. Lagman failed to sustain the momentum of his 10-6 victory over Dentor Econg that pushed him into the round of 16.

Quiñones, Siso and Abadia were joined into the final round of eight by Van Zulueta, Francis Largo, James Dumoran, Bo Alburo, and Roy Tabotabo.

Zulueta outsmarted Junjun Cabrera, 10-3, Largo proved too hot to handle for Dodo Lasa, forcing the latter to retire at 10-4, Dumoran easily elbowed out JecJec Bohol, 10-1, and Alburo handily dismantled Dodong Gerolaga.

In the ladies action, Cecille Rizon and Marlyn Cortes of Cecille's TC coasted to their second straight victory in as many starts at the expense of Maricor Paden and Procy Buanghug of MILTSCI, 8-4.

Freeman ( Article MRec ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch:

On the other hand, the Mactan Island Lawn Tennis Sports Club, Inc. (MILTSCI) duo of Cindi Chan/Edna Base and Dr. Lecille Kilantang and Agnes Sumalinog bounced back from their previous setbacks with aplomb.

Chan and Base recovered from their 6-8 defeat to Connie Salcedo and Ruby Espere with an 8-1 whacking of Limpangog and Napala of Virlo TC, while Kilantang and Sumalinog vented their ire on Timex TC's Padillo and Abuda, 8-2. They now hold an even 2-1win-loss records.

In the Century category for entries whose combined age reaches at least a hundred years old, MILTSCI and Cecille's TC split their games.

Boy Malingin and Andy Escoton of Cecille's TC drubbed MILTSCI's Efren Abenda and Jetjet Lagura, 8-6.

Delbert Barraquias and Pablito Tumulak of MILTSCI made up from the loss of their comrades by subduing Cecille's tandem of Nonie Maglahos and Rey Cortes.

Five other MILTSCI tandems slammed separate foes in the Century class. Epifanio Tac-an and Sol Zulueta beat teammates Jaime Kaamino and Fermin Aranda, 8-3, Nonie Kilantang and Boie Kilantang pulled an 8-7 squeaker over Andy Sullamo and Didi Amores of Marigondon TC, Rene Abrea and Ciloy Rusiana blanked Boy Fernandez and Tommy Sumalinog, 8-0, Narci Ybañez and Rene Pal blasted Dodjie Danosos and Villaganas, 8-2, while Billy Boy Deen and Titing Pejo edged out Dr. Mario Amores and Gubatao, 8-5.

In the other Century match, Gil and Mario Rizon of Cecille's TC bested Conrad Ordonez and Peter Godinez of MILTSCI, 8-5.

The month-long contest, which is among the highlights of the forthcoming fiesta celebration of Lapu-Lapu in honor of its beloved patroness Birhen sa Regla (Virgin of the Rule) on November 20-21, is organized by city councilor Junard "Ahong" Chan assisted by tournament director Junjun Clarito. (THE FREEMAN)

Freeman ( Article MRec ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch:
  • Follow Us: