Freeman Sports ( Leaderboard Top ), pagematch: , sectionmatch: 1

No bullets

The De La Salle Archers were favored to grab their second straight title this year in the UAAP Season 80 so because of two-time MVP Ben Mbala.  But the Ateneo Blue Eagles, who almost swept the two-round elimination, came to spoil the party.  The Eagles clawed the Archers Sunday with a 88-86 victory to win this year’s championship.  Thanks to the efforts of “Miracle Man” Isaac Go who drilled a trey with 24.7 seconds to give the Eagles a five point lead.  But the Archers just won’t give up without a fight as Aljun Melecio fired his own three-point shot, time down to five seconds.  But Anton Asistio and Matt Nieto slammed the final nail of La Salles’ coffin as they made their foul shots.  Ilonggo Thirdy Ravena, proved to be the biggest thorn as he scored 17 points while dishing timely assists to Chibueze Ikeh who was a factor inside the paint, grabbing 12 rebounds while scoring 12 points and blocked two shots. I noticed that Mbala did’nt exert his efforts to the fullest, although he scored 19 points and hauled 14 rebounds.  I also don’t like his firing from  the three point arc when he’s  supposed to play low post.  Of course, Ricci Rivero and Melecio played well but the breaks just went to Ateneo.  My breakfast buddies Ted Cavan and Ed Lauron said “Nahutdan ug bala si Mbala” (Mbala ran out of bullets). Amino La Salle este..Ateneo!

Milo reunion

Cebu’s hosting of the Milo Marathon  National Finals has given me the chance to reunite with my runner friends from all over the country.  It was great to see my old wards Vertek Buenavista, Eric Panique, Jason Agravante, Cristabel Martes and Jho-An Banayag Villaran.  I told Vertekthe clocking has really deteriorated through the years and that his National record of 2:18:44 will remain for a long time.  Davao’s Joerge Andrade ruled this year’s race in 2:39:34 while Panique came in second in 2:42:10.  Vertek was third in 2:43:34.  Olympian Mary Joy Tabal won her fifth straight title in 2:58:01, despite running in sorrow after his father died the day before.  Martes, who started her running career in my Nike Pharmaton circuit, was second in 3:04:20 with former record holder Villarma placing third in 3:11:26.

La Salle rules Passerelle

While their big brothers, the De La Salle Archers lose their crown in Manila, De La Salle Greenhills avenged that loss in Cebu blasting the Sacred  Heart School- Ateneo De Cebu to win the 32nd SBP Passerelle Twin Tournament finals at the Cebu Coliseum.  La Salle clobbered Ateneo 66-51 to win.

Elvisaya at Robinsons Fuente

Elvisaya, fresh from representing the Visayas and Mindanao in the Elvis of Asia Contest at Dusit Thani Hotel in Makati City, will perform on December 17 at the  Robinsons Activity Center.  Elvisaya will be joined by Jhun Villahermosa, the Frank Sinatra of Cebu, Edison Monternel, Tom Jones of Cebu, Herbert Buot the Perry Como of Cebu and Amie Filomeno, singer and tv host of Handurawan.

Freeman ( Article MRec ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch:
  • Follow Us: